Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
We really enjoyed this spaghetti sauce. I also added some fresh basil. Served with tofu and whole wheat spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Wow, a quick, easy and inexpensive alternative to jarred sauce! In fact, I no longer buy the jarred stuff because this is so good and so easy. I tend not to like the chunky sauces, so this is great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
My daughters really liked it, but my husband thought it was too sweet and would have liked more spice. I thought it was fine - not my favourite - would maybe have liked more depth of flavour than you can get in a sauce that is cooked so quickly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Delicious! I am a fan of bolognese sauce but am trying to cut down on saturated fat so tried this and I hardly missed the meat - rich taste without being rich and fatty. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rotunda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Good- added 5 cloves garlic, 1tbs basil and 1 tbs parsley. Also a dash of olive oil. Not amazing but good. I will probably use in dishes that require a sauce like chicken parm. but i doubt I would use this as a whole meal with pasta... it would need to have a little more oomph to stand alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Im usually not a fan of red sauce, more of a white sauce girl, but I needed a sauce for spaghetti and the stuff out of the jars at the grocery store are YUCK. This recipe is GOOD. I will eat it and enjoy it. Its not my favorite and I don't like to eat it often, but its good. The hubby liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britnieann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is very close to my own recipe, so I thought I would give it a try. I did replace the oregano with basil because my family prefers basil, but it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Caldwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Really good! I added some red wine and pureed the crushed tomatoes for a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
In this economy, this couldn't have been more simple and economical. Very tasty and the crushed red pepper added a bit of zazz. That said, I did add 1/2 onion, chopped and a bit of basil and a bay leaf as it sat on the stove for a few hours on low. But it is just fine with out it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
this is a really good recipe. my husband is really picky when it comes to spaghetti sauce and i was suprised when he actually liked it. i used fresh tomato's instead of crushed and i didnt use any of the red wine vinegar. i also added a teaspoon of dried parsley. it was a little on the sweet side it could've used a little something but im not sure what. if anyone has any suggestions could you let me know. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marinewife408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States