Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is a very rich and thick sauce. So good and so easy to make. I sauteed a chopped onion in some olive oil and garlic first. Then I added the crushed tomatoes, one 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and two 6 oz. cans of tomato paste. I also added 1/2 tsp. of salt, 2 Tbsp. of sugar, 1/2 c. of dry red wine vs. vinegar, 1 Tbsp. each of oregano and basil vs. 1 tsp., 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper, and 2 bay leaves. I let that simmer for 2 hours on low then removed the bay leaves and added 1/4 c. of shredded parmesan cheese, let that melt and then added some meatballs to let them heat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I love this sauce and everyone I make it for requests it again and again. I make enough for friends to take home and to freeze! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Thanks so much for sharing! I love it! It was even great after simmering just 5 minutes. Yum and simple. This will be my everyday sauce from now on. Goodbye Ragu! (Oh, 1 change: didn't have red wine vinegar, so i used apple cider vinegar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Too sweet, and absolutely no depth of flavor! I made this and the entire family did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Used recipe to can about 3 lbs of fresh tomatoes. Added 1/2 cans of spaghetti sauce to make 2 quarts. Red wine vinegar left a tang to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Wow! One of the best spaghetti sauces I have ever tried! I did make a couple changes... I browned one pound of ground beef with the garlic and added a little dried minced onion, dried basil, and a bay leaf. Absolutely delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is a great base sauce recipe. I took half of the sauce and added it to some sauted onion and squash and used the other half over some ground turkey for my boyfriend. I'll be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I think this was a great "base" recipe. I ended up adding red wine, fresh basil,sauteed onions, and oregano. With those additions, it was a delicious, savory sauce and I plan to never buy jarred spaghetti sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaliLama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I thought this was a good basic sauce. I followed the instructions except for adding sauteed onion and mushrooms. Definitely better than the jars of sauce, but maybe still missing something for me. I am giving this three stars, because it didn't get any better sitting in the fridge. Sauces usually get a bit better within the next few days and this one just didn't. It separated and just sort of became gross. I ended p throwing it away because I didn't want to eat it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
We did not like this sauce at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States