Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Thanks so much for sharing! I love it! It was even great after simmering just 5 minutes. Yum and simple. This will be my everyday sauce from now on. Goodbye Ragu! (Oh, 1 change: didn't have red wine vinegar, so i used apple cider vinegar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Too sweet, and absolutely no depth of flavor! I made this and the entire family did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Used recipe to can about 3 lbs of fresh tomatoes. Added 1/2 cans of spaghetti sauce to make 2 quarts. Red wine vinegar left a tang to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Wow! One of the best spaghetti sauces I have ever tried! I did make a couple changes... I browned one pound of ground beef with the garlic and added a little dried minced onion, dried basil, and a bay leaf. Absolutely delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is a great base sauce recipe. I took half of the sauce and added it to some sauted onion and squash and used the other half over some ground turkey for my boyfriend. I'll be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I think this was a great "base" recipe. I ended up adding red wine, fresh basil,sauteed onions, and oregano. With those additions, it was a delicious, savory sauce and I plan to never buy jarred spaghetti sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaliLama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I thought this was a good basic sauce. I followed the instructions except for adding sauteed onion and mushrooms. Definitely better than the jars of sauce, but maybe still missing something for me. I am giving this three stars, because it didn't get any better sitting in the fridge. Sauces usually get a bit better within the next few days and this one just didn't. It separated and just sort of became gross. I ended p throwing it away because I didn't want to eat it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
We did not like this sauce at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
for quick and easy this is wonderful. I didn't have tomato paste so instead i used tomato puree and I know that is more tomatoey than paste so I added an extra garlic clove, basil, garlic powder, and a bay leave like someone else suggested. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
We really enjoyed this spaghetti sauce. I also added some fresh basil. Served with tofu and whole wheat spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States