Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
The final result is absolutely delicious, but after experimenting, I found that you only need one cup of sugar and a dribble-more of milk. Anymore and it's too sweet and a tad too dry. Once you get your preferences on the ingredients right, though, it's addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! I followed the recipe to a T except I added 1/4 cup butter to the milk while heating (this was how my father always made it, and he was taught by his neighbor's grandmother). This made it moist, but still incredibly light. I baked it in two round pans for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. I made a chocolate ganache with 1 cup of half and half and 8 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate and, after allowing it to cool for a minute, spread that on top. DELICIOUS DELICIOUS DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
People shouldn't critize the recipe if they have changed it in any way or form. The unsatisfication may be caused by their own modifications. I personally really liked this cake. And I followed the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is the same recipe I've used for many years and have loved - except my recipe calls for a small amount of butter, 1/4 cup. I did not prepare the pan as it wasn't indicated to do so, and I do know that with this type of "no-fat" cake, greasing or greasing and flouring the pan isn't generally done as it could affect the rise. I used a shortcake pan and the little cakes stuck miserably. I was at least able to salvage the top halves. The recipe I have always used with the butter doesn't direct to prepare the pan either, but I believe that because of the little bit of butter in the batter, that's not necessary. I actually prefer the recipe with the butter anyway - I like both the texture and the mouthfeel better. If I was to make this recipe again, especially with this individual shortcake pan, I'd grease and flour the pans. What little bit of rise I might sacrifice would be worth having the cakes release easily and intact. Same day update: I was compelled to make these again for several reasons, sheer stubbornness one of them. But the truth be told, if Doughgirl made them with success there had to be something I needed to do differently. (I admire and respect her expertise!) Finally, unless I wanted to serve my guests with botched sponge cakes (my mother would say "Who cares what they look like, they're delicious!), I either had to buy an angel food cake or...bite the bullet and try this again. This time I greased and floured my pan - complete success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
As per previous reviews, I only used 1 cup of sugar, and added a little more milk ( 1/3 cup instead of 1/4 ). Delicious and fluffy looking cake. Cutting down the sugar is absolutely necessary. Loved the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
My 4 year old son and I made this while the 2 year old napped. We made it as the base for a Strawberry shortcake. It was wonderful. My 2 and 4 year old had 3 slices each. (after eating a good dinner). This is a definate, down home, good cooking, comfort food. We will make this often this coming summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
Very easy to make. I reduced sugar to 1 cup and the cake still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
With half the sugar, it was *just* right! So easy to make, and nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made this exactly as stated and think it's a nice, simple, comfort-food type basic cake. The texture is very appealing, light and fluffy, surprisingly similar to angel food only more tender and less rubbery. I thought sponge cake had a different texture, larger air pockets in it, this one is finely textured. This would be super with strawberries and real whipped cream. I am serving it for a child's birthday sandwiched with stabilized whipped cream to resemble a ... (should I reveal this) ... giant twinkie, what the party boy requested. Unfortunately it's not yellow like a twinkie, but tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This recipe is delicious and so simple to make. The cake bakes up terrific in a tube pan. The crust comes out crunchy/chewy/sweet like the top of a muffin. The cake has good vanilla flavor and holds together nicely. It would go great with fresh fruit and ice cream. Would like to add other flavors to this recipe like lemon or orange. But wonder if I should use extracts or juice/zest?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States