Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
i found it a bit dry. But after tweaking it with a bit more milk and less sugar it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicky Walks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This recipe has become a favourite in my house for the childrens birthday cakes. The sponge is moist and springy but the recipe doesb't work well if you try to modify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Simple recipe, easy to follow, yet I still seemed to get it wrong. I think it was because I reduced the serving amout. I'll definatly try it again though, really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I loved this recipe - I didn't change a thing to the basic recipe. The only thing I did was to add some icing: I cut the cake in half, spread some raspberry jam, and then some whipped cream to the bottom half and frosted the top with icing sugar - yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I cut the amount of sugar, but will add it all the next time I make it. It has a nice spongy consistency. I made it in a bunt pan and served it with cool whip and caramel topping. Would like to use strawberries next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Quick, easy and delicious! This is the first time I've made a sponge cake and this recipe was quick, easy and the cake is perfect; moist-spongy and golden and with great but subtle flavor. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is an excellent light sponge cake, and very easy to make. I use it for my triffle. Would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
i was succeed in the second trial. the cake was fluffy and tasty enough. in fact, i sifted and gently folded dry indegrients into egg mixture instead of beating. this kept air bubbles inside the batter and helped the cake fluffy and light. while it was fluffy enought it wasn't eggy at all. great. try it again even you was fail like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I followed the recipe but reduced the sugar to 1 cup as suggested by previous reviewers. I also added a tad of nutmeg. The end result was just 'okay'. I found the cake to be too eggy for my taste. Wouldn't use this recipe again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yukonchicka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
So Awesome! I made this cake (with 1 cup sugar) not sure what to expect, but I won 1st in a Cake Contest (the theme was Floral Fantasia - Decorated Sponge) 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Swindon, Wiltshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States