Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Carole Ann
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I thought this recipe was delightful. Loved the flavor (especially after cutting down the sugar to just over a cup, which was plenty), but the texture was a little too dense for the strawberry shortcake I was making. Still, it was very simple and relatively fast. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The cake turned out great, but I didn't like the flavour of it. It had a nice light texture but I just didn't like the cake very much. However, I cut down the sugar to 1 cup and it was the perfect amount of sweetness. So, what I'm saying is that it's a good recipe if you like Hot Milk Sponge Cake, but it's just not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ducky_ducky3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is not good at all. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I can't really rate this because I tried it twice and each time it came out like a hockey puck. Looked great when I took it out of the oven and then collapsed. I did cut the sugar and the baking powder. Tried it with half in a round pan and half in muffin tins. I have made other cakes but can't figure out where I went wrong with this one. Do I need to do it in a tube pan? It sounded great for strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
It was pretty good, but it didn't taste really "spongy". It was also a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
A pretty good cake. I like that it is no fat and easy to make. As another previous reviewer, I did reduce sugar down to 1 cup and subbed in almond extract in place of vanilla, just a personal preference. Not too sweet, just the way we like it. Great with our evening coffee and tea. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I agree with other posts, cut the time down. Otherwise, this cake was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Easy and tasty, but nothing spectacular. Dense, moist, and really good warm, especially with fresh whipped cream. I cut the baking time WAY down, however--by about fifteen minutes. So keep an eye on yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
We love this cake! I like to serve it with fresh sliced strawberries. My boyfriend likes to drizzle a slice with melted chocolate-- which is very rich but delicious. I also like that it stays so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I used this as a base for strawberry shortcake and it worked well. It resembled angel food cake, but a bit more substantial. It was rather sticky when taking it out of the pan - not sure if greasing the pan would help, I would try this if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States