Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I can't really rate this because I tried it twice and each time it came out like a hockey puck. Looked great when I took it out of the oven and then collapsed. I did cut the sugar and the baking powder. Tried it with half in a round pan and half in muffin tins. I have made other cakes but can't figure out where I went wrong with this one. Do I need to do it in a tube pan? It sounded great for strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
It was pretty good, but it didn't taste really "spongy". It was also a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
A pretty good cake. I like that it is no fat and easy to make. As another previous reviewer, I did reduce sugar down to 1 cup and subbed in almond extract in place of vanilla, just a personal preference. Not too sweet, just the way we like it. Great with our evening coffee and tea. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I agree with other posts, cut the time down. Otherwise, this cake was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Easy and tasty, but nothing spectacular. Dense, moist, and really good warm, especially with fresh whipped cream. I cut the baking time WAY down, however--by about fifteen minutes. So keep an eye on yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
We love this cake! I like to serve it with fresh sliced strawberries. My boyfriend likes to drizzle a slice with melted chocolate-- which is very rich but delicious. I also like that it stays so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I used this as a base for strawberry shortcake and it worked well. It resembled angel food cake, but a bit more substantial. It was rather sticky when taking it out of the pan - not sure if greasing the pan would help, I would try this if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This made a wonderful sponge cake. It was exactly what I hoped it would be. I baked it in the dessert cups bakery pan. It makes perfect little sponge cakes (like the ones you find in the store) for strawberry shortcake! The cake is the perfect texture for strawberry shortcake. I know shortcake has a biscuit texture, but I love those little "dessert cup" cakes at the grocery that are more of a sponge cake (which does have a slightly tougher or rubbery texture). My husband, who used to work in a bakery, said the bakery used "sponge" cake recipe for the dessert cups, and that this recipe was really good. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I took others advised by using only 1 cup of sugar, adding 1/3 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of margarine (instead of butter) to the milk. I made 2 batch, 1 with white milk and the other one with cocholate milk. Both turned out wonderfully moist and very flavorful. Very easy for such a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIEKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I agree with all the comments that say to halve the sugar. I used 1 + 1/3 cups sugar and the cake came out really well. My first sponge cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkybutton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States