Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by etka3646
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
A very good cake! Followed the recipe exactly, and put mocha icing on afterward. Sugar fiend on the loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etka3646

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
A little too sweet for me, i would reduce the sugar.. maybe 1.5 cups or even just 1 cup. Other than that its really good. I added 1 TBS canola oil, it made it really moist, light & fluffy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Grease the pan! I thought that since this was compared to angel food cake, and since the recipe did not state this, you didn't need to grease the pan. Grease the pan! :) I used half the amount of sugar. Great with strawberries (with sugar and the juice that comes from that) and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luci's Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
It was delicious! I made cream cheese frosting and put that on top of the cake....it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made a serving for 7 as a trial batch. My family enjoyed it very much! I did however cut the sugar by 3/4ths, and added 1/4th in honey. I added a small amount of butter to the milk as someone suggested, and a pinch of salt to the batter. To make things a little more exciting I added dried cranberries and processed some walnuts for a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FALLACY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this exactly like the recipe stated and it turned out fabulously!! I made this for my mom's b-day cake and everyone loved it. I made it in two 9 inch rounds and did it as layer cake with whipping cream and fresh fruit in the middle. I did use a buttercream icing for the sides and top but that was far too sweet. The unanimous vote is to make it as two 9 inch cakes and top each cake with whip cream and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
very good tasting! we lived it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasha chernova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Easy, tasty, fun to make. I don't have a loaf pan so I made half the recipe (w/ half the sugar) in a cast iron skillet. Topped with strawberry glaze. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I followed the suggestions but the batter turned out very runny. Tasted like baking powder and turned out very dense. I must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole Ann
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I thought this recipe was delightful. Loved the flavor (especially after cutting down the sugar to just over a cup, which was plenty), but the texture was a little too dense for the strawberry shortcake I was making. Still, it was very simple and relatively fast. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States