Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was pretty tasty, but definitely not the light and fluffy sponge I was expecting. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Came out beautiful looked store bought but tasted even better! only added 1C of the sugar because i was makeing strawberry shortcake & theres alot of sugar in the strawberrys and whip cream, baked it in a bread pan & it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I baked it in muffin tins, and used it as a base for strawberry shortcake! Yummy! :) I also listened to other reviewers and only used 1 cup of sugar. :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is the same recipe I've used for many years and have loved - except my recipe calls for a small amount of butter, 1/4 cup. I did not prepare the pan as it wasn't indicated to do so, and I do know that with this type of "no-fat" cake, greasing or greasing and flouring the pan isn't generally done as it could affect the rise. I used a shortcake pan and the little cakes stuck miserably. I was at least able to salvage the top halves. The recipe I have always used with the butter doesn't direct to prepare the pan either, but I believe that because of the little bit of butter in the batter, that's not necessary. I actually prefer the recipe with the butter anyway - I like both the texture and the mouthfeel better. If I was to make this recipe again, especially with this individual shortcake pan, I'd grease and flour the pans. What little bit of rise I might sacrifice would be worth having the cakes release easily and intact. Same day update: I was compelled to make these again for several reasons, sheer stubbornness one of them. But the truth be told, if Doughgirl made them with success there had to be something I needed to do differently. (I admire and respect her expertise!) Finally, unless I wanted to serve my guests with botched sponge cakes (my mother would say "Who cares what they look like, they're delicious!), I either had to buy an angel food cake or...bite the bullet and try this again. This time I greased and floured my pan - complete success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted to make strawberry shortcakes with a sponge cake base, and this was perfect. One recipe made enough batter to fill my pan (for 6 individual sponge cakes) plus one 8-inch round. Next time, I may halve the recipe. I added about ½ teaspoon of orange zest (to complement the orange liqueur I was adding to the strawberries) and a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
great fluffy cake!,i was looking for a cake without any added fat and here it is!i used 1 cup of sugar and it was sweet enough(i can't imagin it with 2 cups!),and i beated the egg for so long that's what makes the diffrence,i ate it with a layer of custard and strawberry jam..fabulous,thank you for such a great recipe,i'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHERYLASTRA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I baked this cake in two 9 inch rounds to make a strawberry shortcake for my family and everyone agreed it was delicious. I also reduced the sugar to 1 cup and it was plenty sweet. Make sure to grease your pan because the cake does stick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I've never made this kind of cake before so I don't know what to expect. It tastes good but I'm not sure if the texture is right..but it tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandygirl238

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by azzo58
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was a WOW worthy sponge cake! My husband said it was the best he ever had. I baked in two round sandwich tins. Sandwiched the delicious sponges with sweetened whipped cream and strawberry jam, topped with confectioners sugar, cream and fresh strawberries. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzo58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
veeeeery easy!! I filled the cake with chocolate cream and topped it with fresh whipping cream. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisellabella

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States