Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Great base for Strawberry Shortcake. You can add or decrease sugar in the cake depending on how sweet your berries are. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I loved this recipe!!! I made it for a last min tea and coffee gathering with my sister-in-law, nieces and two friends....it came out very fluffy and yummy. In Turkey cake is usually light and fluffy like this so it was great! I put a 1/4 cup of butter in the milk and made the batter this way. I buttered a springform pan and made it in that. I generally grease my cake pans when I bake a cake...so I didn't even see that it didn't state whether to grease ur pan or not I did it purely out of habit and am glad I did bc when I went back to read the reviews I saw a lot of people had trouble bc they didn't grease their pan. The outside came out crunchy and chewy and the inside was beautifully spongy!! I loved it! Thank u!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Good for being very lowfat. Next time I will cook for a little less time and/or add more milk. I would have liked it to be a little more moist. Definitely need to serve with some sort of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was interesting....I made it in cupcake tins because I couldnt find my bread tin... They were okay, but didnt just take like a sponge cake...they had a very unique hot milk taste, that I cant say I loved...If you like the taste, it's a great recipe, they turned out wonderfully, but I just didnt care for the flavor. I suppose I wasnt expecting the milk to have such a strong taste. My dad didnt mind them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HDCarleton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Followed directions except I substituted half the sugar with splenda. Not sure if that is what affected the consistency but the cake was definitely heavy and dense. Still delicious, so I'm not complaining. Just have to look for another recipe or try again for a lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDK227

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Not sweet enough for sponge cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
woooooooooow Quite simple to make its turn out very tasty and delicious cake thank you for shairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this cake and it came out super good. Thx for sharing this recipe. My cake never turned out this soft :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This tastes like a boring bread made of flour and sugar, with no interesting texture or taste whatsoever. I changed nothing in the original recipe, except added some raisins to the batter, which is the only salvation to the bread. While it was quite easy to make, there was no fun in eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe would be very good, except there are no instructions to grease the pan. Mine stuck very badly, ruining the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States