Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I love this recipe - it's a definite favourite at our house, and I've made it quite a few times now...totally love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM_200

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This didn't work for me. I cut sugar back to 1C as others recommended; that was the only change. It came out dense, heavy and without much taste. I believe that 40 minutes was too long a cooking time. If I were to try this recipe again I would check it after 20-25 minutes. We ate it with lots of fruit sauce, but I tossed the remainder away. Will look for another hot milk cake recipe until I get one that works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
The texture came out rubbery and too egg-like. Not at all light or fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Excellent cake! Really good and easy to make. Quick and the ingredients are things you always have on hand. Love it with berries and whipping cream. An excellent spring-picnic-everyone-brings-something cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
i'm always looking for low-fat desserts and this is excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
As per previous reviews, I only used 1 cup of sugar, and added a little more milk ( 1/3 cup instead of 1/4 ). Delicious and fluffy looking cake. Cutting down the sugar is absolutely necessary. Loved the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
People shouldn't critize the recipe if they have changed it in any way or form. The unsatisfication may be caused by their own modifications. I personally really liked this cake. And I followed the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Not a bad cake, but it didn't fit the description of light and fluffy. In fact, it was rather dense and eggy. Could be because I 3/4'd the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I made this using soy milk so that might be the problem. I didn't like this at all. It was very eggy tasting and had a rubbery texture- not light and fluffy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rikjog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
easy to make and very good - though it came out very sweet. next time i think i'll cut the sugar in half like the others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States