Nancy's Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
OK,this really is quite good and is served in a restaurant here in Holland,MI. What you have to do is mix the softened butter and pumpkin together. Yes, it's curdled. Now put it in the microwave to soften the butter (this only takes a few seconds), and then take a fork and whip it. If the curdling is not gone after whipping, put it back in the microwave and whip again. Now, add your spices. Beat and then put in the frig to harden. You can always take it out to reach room temp if you prefer...and add ground pecans to it, too.More spices if you prefer.I used brown sugar instead of XXX sugar and only enough to lighly sweeten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I didn't like the way this mixed up. It didn't seem smooth enough. It tasted okay, but the look and texture left a lot to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
It's very bland as written. No flavour. So, after tasting it I needed to double the spices and I added 1 Tsp of pumpkin pie spice and also used 1/2 C. of sugar total. It doesn't look very nice either. The margarine separated and it gave a curdle look. Look at my pic as it's very noticable. Apperance and taste is not very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Tastey! Used up some leftover canned pumpkin along with Country Crock margarine and it tasted yummy. The only down side was that it does not look very appetizing, looks similar to hummus. However, I will make this again to spread on toast and bagels !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
The taste of this butter is okay but it does not look appetizing. It seemed to curdle. My coworkers wouldn't even try it due to the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I was disappointed by this recipe. I was expecting a more flavourful and sweeter "honey butter" type spread but this didn't seem to have much of a taste at all unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
We really enjoyed this butter on toast, muffins, English muffins, pancakes, ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Simple to make, yummy on fresh bread or pumpkin muffins. Could use some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmarshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Had a lovely pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
We are not big fans of margarine here. This separated and was just not very yummy. I think I'll stick to my own pumpkin honey butter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namaste Mama

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States