Nancy's Chicken in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I've made a version of this for many years. What I do is cook the chicken all the way thru and the chop it up. You can chop it as fine as you like and then mix it with softened cream cheese. You can use either the kind with the chives or plain and the add your own minced onion to taste. Also I have used Pillsbury crescent rolls instead of the puff pastry.Just pinch the 2 triangles into 1 square and then place the filling in the center. Bring all 4 corners together to form a pouch like package. Just make sure you pinch the corners together so the filling doesn't leak out. Since the chicken is already cooked you just need to bake until golden brown. This is a great way to use leftover chicken or turkey. They are great with chicken or turkey gravy on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGWangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We love these! I prefer to dice my chicken breasts and we like blue cheese instead of cream. If I have it I like to add a slice of deli ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I make this recipe with crescent rolls (keep the rolls in them in rectangles, fill with cream cheese mixture and then fold them up and pinch the rolls together). I also brush the tops with egg whites and sprinkle breadcrumbs on top for that little extra crunch. :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I've made something very similar to this for many years. I use defrosted puff pastry sheets, rolled to 12x14 and then cut into 7x6 rectangles. I place the UNCOOKED chicken (fold the lower tip on itself to make a uniform thickness) and herb cream cheese on the pastry and then fold it into little packages. Overlap the edges and seal with egg wash. Coat the outside with egg wash for a nice shine. Place on baking sheet with folded edges down. Bake at 400 for 30 minutes. The pastry is beautifully browned and the chicken is nicely cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
In order to cook the chicken thoroughly, in the time allowed on the recipe, the breasts must be pounded thinly or use chicken cutlets or tenders. This is an ok dish. Fine for a luncheon with the "girls."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
try this...cube and cook your chicken and then fold into a mixture of cream cheese, green onions, mushrooms...a little sour cream...crushed pecans opt. and spoon into a spread out refrigerator cresent and roll up and bake for 20 mins on 350. Then spoon some cream of chicken soup diluted with milk over them as you eat them like gravy. My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
We thought this was just okay. It looked great and the chicken was juicy and tender, but it lacked flavour, even though I dredged the chicken in seasoned flour before browning, and added Dijon mustard and fresh parsley to the herbed cheese. It definitely needed the lemon sauce I served on the side for a flavour boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I have been making this for years with a slight difference. I use crescent rolls and pinch two of the triangles together. I place the chicken filling in the middle and then seal it up like a pocket. For appetizers I just use one triangle and it makes a two bite size. I brush the tops with melted butter and sprinke seasoned italian bread crumbs and parmesan on top! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Could have had more flavor.  I'm going to try adding fresh chopped green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Hildreth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Impressive dish to make for company. It was a rich dish. I am thinking next time I make it I will add a little less cream cheese. Don't make the mistake of cooking it with a cover on, as my husband did because that pan turned out a little pale and soggy. The ones without the lid looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States