Nancy's Chicken in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was great! I took some suggestions from others and cooked the chicken entirely prior to putting it in pastry shell. I diced it and sauteed it with some garlic, onions, mushrooms and spinach. This was a great new twist on chicken for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Kittery, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Delicious!! As a cautionary tale, however, I should mention some of my failed modification attempts: I cubed the chicken before cooking, hoping that would cut down on the time, but then when I went to wrap up the pastries I couldn't exactly spread the cream cheese on the chicken, so I just put a dollop on each, assuming it would melt and spread out in the oven. It doesn't! So next time I will spread it out on the other side of the puff pastry before I fold it over (I cut the sheets into triangles to make little turnovers). Still tasted fantastic, though. I found baking 30 min at 400 browned them perfectly in my oven. An easy way to make something that seems so fancy! I made a double batch using a "family pack" of chicken breasts, two packages of puff pastry sheets, but just one pkg. of cream cheese, and I put the other 4 pastries (unbaked) in the freezer for another quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleFlour
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I decided to do some modifications and boy is this TASTY! I had phyllo dough on hand, so I laid out a few layers, brushed with melted butter, put balls of stuffing evenly apart then layered more phyllo on top, pressed together between the stuffing and cut to form what looked like ravioli pastries. Also, the changes I made to the stuffing were DELICIOUS!!!! I boiled and shredded chicken breast, and mixed it with sauteed mushrooms and garlic. I didn't have herbed cream cheese so I added sliced green onion to neufchatel. I baked the pastries as directed and the results are WONDERFUL! My husband loves them and I like how it's something different than the 'old usual.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I felt there was WAY too much cream cheese in each of the puffs. BTW, I also cooked the chicken all the way through before putting them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Very rich but wonderful if made as directed!! Super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe-- it is now a regular in our house. I cook it longer at lower temperature, otherwise the pastry burns before the chicken cooks through--darn growth hormones! Aside from the cook time, the recipe is perfect. Wonderful flavor and very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmtanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Very good dish! Easy to make. The only change I would make would be to use puff pastry sheets rather than shells as they would be easier to work with. The shells barely covered the chicken and I had to dice the chicken which worked out better. I might add a little garlic to the chicken as well before putting the creme cheese in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Fantastic but Jeff didn't like the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
The idea is great, but this recipe does have one error. Puff pastry SHEETS should be used, if you're going to roll it out -- not SHELLS! OR, this is how I did it: 1. Bake puff pastry shells (following directions on box). 2. Cut chicken into pieces and cook in skillet with oil & salt & pepper. 3. Combine cooked chicken with cream cheese (I used regular cream cheese plus fresh chives). 4. Fill shells with chicken/cream cheese mixture. 5. Pop them back in the oven for a few minutes to make sure they're nice and hot. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
My 4 year old son said this was the best dinner he has ever had. It was delicious! It doesn't make as good of leftovers, so next time I will half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States