Nana's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I don't know why I said chopped squash... I meant cooked. Anyhow, you can use 3 cups of squash if desired. I found it does help to use a little more than 2 cups. Also, yes, you can sustitute butter and margarine out, AND cut back slightly if you choose. I add more cheese than the recipe calls for as well. The only other thing I wanted to say.... someone said they cut out the sugar. It's only a SMALL amount, and the sugar helps the flavor come out in the dish. Anytime you add sugar to a salty dish, it helps accentuate the flavor of your meal. I learned this from my grandmother as well. :) I hope I helped fix my recipe... there's no edit button. haha. Thank you for the wonderful reviews! Alyssa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
We have taken this recipe for our squash casserole and have thrown out the one we had. It is really delicious. I usually don't make changes but due to the time I had and the ingredients on hand I altered it a bit. I used 3 cups squash and some carrots (steamed all veggies)just because we like lots of veggies. I also used one box of cornbread stuffing mix (house brand ok) with the seasonings already in it then omitted the sage and salt and pepper. I cut the margarine to 1/4 cup because we didn't need the extra fat. I followed everything else and it was fantastic. This is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very good, quick and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I used Cream of Mushroom soup, only about 3 tablespoons of butter and no celery at all (I didn't have any celery) and it was delicious. I used more than a half cup of cheese in it as well and I'm glad that I did. I noticed someone else left out the cheese and replaced the cornbread with regular white bread and gave the recipe a 3 star rating. You can't change up the entire recipe and then say you didn't really like it, it's just not fair to the person who posted the recipe in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My mom said she would love me to cook this for her so she could try it and see if it is as good as they say it is!!! maybe theyre right or maybe my mom will get mad and throw it away!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
MMMMMMMM so good. I subbed a box of the "store brand" cornbread stuffing for the cornbread, as that was all I had on hand, so I left out the salt. I also halfed the amount of butter, and added extra cheese. Very small adjustments that were made, and I must say this was so good. I served it with ham, and it went perfectly, but I liked the casserole better than my ham(LOL). Thanks so much for a great recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
As my husband said, this was much nicer than he would have initially thought, especially given that he does not really like squash. It had a lovely texture to it and was a warm and yummy side dish. This was a bit more complicated than I would like for a weekday meal-cutting and dicing and a 1 hour bake time involved. We did have one fairly big change to the recipe -not sure if it changed it much but (being in Canada) cornbread was not easily available so I used fresh white bread diced up and added about 2 tbsp of cornmeal in its place. It whipped up nicely and once the egg and soup mix were added, the squash blended in nicely. The only other comment I would make is that I don't think the cheese was necessary as the side and top was a crispy brown and could have stood alone. Cutting the cheese would have cut the calories drastically -this being a side dish and the vegetable portion of our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLSELEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enslev, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed this. It did remind me of Thanksgiving. I didn't measure the squash, cornbread, onion or celery. I ended up using two small sized squash that I cubed and microwaved briefly in water to soften. I used a 10 oz can of cream of chicken soup and did not add the margarine. I made my own cornbread using Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread recipe here on AR and then used the same pan to bake this recipe. I think I would add more squash and less cornbread next time but I definitely will be making this again. I wish I had fresh yellow squash at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Extremely good recipe! It was loved by all. It's definitely a keeper. Maybe use a little less to half the amount of butter. I doubled the recipe and I'm sure the small amount of leftovers will be gone lightning fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Being from Texas, I knew I'd more than likely prefer a southern squash casserole recipe. BINGO! It's delicious. I followed Alyssa's comments and did add 3 cups squash and loads of sharp cheddar. The butter, cornbread, squash and onions come together perfectly. Kiss that Nana for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States