Nana's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed this. It did remind me of Thanksgiving. I didn't measure the squash, cornbread, onion or celery. I ended up using two small sized squash that I cubed and microwaved briefly in water to soften. I used a 10 oz can of cream of chicken soup and did not add the margarine. I made my own cornbread using Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread recipe here on AR and then used the same pan to bake this recipe. I think I would add more squash and less cornbread next time but I definitely will be making this again. I wish I had fresh yellow squash at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Tried it, everyone loved it. It's a keeper in the old recipe box. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This turned out perfectly! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee927

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottondale, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
MMMMMMMM so good. I subbed a box of the "store brand" cornbread stuffing for the cornbread, as that was all I had on hand, so I left out the salt. I also halfed the amount of butter, and added extra cheese. Very small adjustments that were made, and I must say this was so good. I served it with ham, and it went perfectly, but I liked the casserole better than my ham(LOL). Thanks so much for a great recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I don't know why I said chopped squash... I meant cooked. Anyhow, you can use 3 cups of squash if desired. I found it does help to use a little more than 2 cups. Also, yes, you can sustitute butter and margarine out, AND cut back slightly if you choose. I add more cheese than the recipe calls for as well. The only other thing I wanted to say.... someone said they cut out the sugar. It's only a SMALL amount, and the sugar helps the flavor come out in the dish. Anytime you add sugar to a salty dish, it helps accentuate the flavor of your meal. I learned this from my grandmother as well. :) I hope I helped fix my recipe... there's no edit button. haha. Thank you for the wonderful reviews! Alyssa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a very good recipe. My only changes would be to leave out the sugar. I also buy the Martha White's Yellow Cornbread Mix (it doesn't have sugar) for the prepared cornbread. I also like to add 1/2 teaspoon of poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Oh my gosh! This is so great. I made it last nite and it seemed more like a squash dressing to me. I used butter instead of margarine, onion powder instead of real onion, and fresh sage from my garden for the dried. It is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Extremely good recipe! It was loved by all. It's definitely a keeper. Maybe use a little less to half the amount of butter. I doubled the recipe and I'm sure the small amount of leftovers will be gone lightning fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I was excited about this receipe as I love squash; however, the three people I served it too did not enjoy it and I was disappointed. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
We have taken this recipe for our squash casserole and have thrown out the one we had. It is really delicious. I usually don't make changes but due to the time I had and the ingredients on hand I altered it a bit. I used 3 cups squash and some carrots (steamed all veggies)just because we like lots of veggies. I also used one box of cornbread stuffing mix (house brand ok) with the seasonings already in it then omitted the sage and salt and pepper. I cut the margarine to 1/4 cup because we didn't need the extra fat. I followed everything else and it was fantastic. This is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States