Nana's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I followed other reviewer's advice with less butter, more cheese, and added a touch of Sour cream. I improvised with frozen sliced yellow squash (thawed, cooked few seconds prior), and added perhaps a 1/2 cup extra squash than what the recipe calls for. Will fix again, as it got great reviews. However, I will add more soup next time for more flavor/moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela Cahoon McClanahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grantsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a yummy side, but I must confess I made a few changes to use what I had in the house and avoid going to the store! Change 1, no celery but had frozen corn so threw in a cup. 2, the can of soup I had was a 10 oz so I put in an additional 1/3 cup of milk to get approximately the same amount of liquid. 3, Discovered I didn't have any sage but did have dried tarrigon and dried basil so I put in a tsp of the tarrigon and a nice sprinkle of the basil. 4, We like a crunchy top to our casserole so I tossed Panko breadcrumbs with the cheese topping. In the end , despite my meddling and substituting, it was delish! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nik575

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
made this last weekend to rave reviews! only thing i didn't add was the sage, and only because i forgot, and the sugar. love this recipe for a change from my usual squash casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber a.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This casserole is absolutely. I am having some leftovers for a midnight snack right now. However I would not call is casserole actually but more like squash dressing. If I have to take a covered dish for a holiday this will be it....Thanks so much!!! This is a keeper and is going on our family cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
this is good. i will keep the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Even my 6 yo who says he doesn't like squash loves this dish. I made it tonight and didn't tell him it had squash in it; I was amazed when he ate 6 servings. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I used leftover buttercup squash instead of yellow squash and bread cubes instead of cornbread. Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent, not as sweet as the squash casserole which has the brown sugar topping. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was really good!! I added extra cheese and used a bit more squash left out the sage and celery used half the sugar and it was awesome. Will be making this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vina, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Loved this! Loved this! I am swimming in yellow squash this summer and this used up a hunk. My husband rates this a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States