Nana's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a yummy side, but I must confess I made a few changes to use what I had in the house and avoid going to the store! Change 1, no celery but had frozen corn so threw in a cup. 2, the can of soup I had was a 10 oz so I put in an additional 1/3 cup of milk to get approximately the same amount of liquid. 3, Discovered I didn't have any sage but did have dried tarrigon and dried basil so I put in a tsp of the tarrigon and a nice sprinkle of the basil. 4, We like a crunchy top to our casserole so I tossed Panko breadcrumbs with the cheese topping. In the end , despite my meddling and substituting, it was delish! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nik575

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
made this last weekend to rave reviews! only thing i didn't add was the sage, and only because i forgot, and the sugar. love this recipe for a change from my usual squash casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber a.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This casserole is absolutely. I am having some leftovers for a midnight snack right now. However I would not call is casserole actually but more like squash dressing. If I have to take a covered dish for a holiday this will be it....Thanks so much!!! This is a keeper and is going on our family cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
this is good. i will keep the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Even my 6 yo who says he doesn't like squash loves this dish. I made it tonight and didn't tell him it had squash in it; I was amazed when he ate 6 servings. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I used leftover buttercup squash instead of yellow squash and bread cubes instead of cornbread. Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent, not as sweet as the squash casserole which has the brown sugar topping. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was really good!! I added extra cheese and used a bit more squash left out the sage and celery used half the sugar and it was awesome. Will be making this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vina, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Loved this! Loved this! I am swimming in yellow squash this summer and this used up a hunk. My husband rates this a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
do u need to remove the seeds before boiling the squash??? ....ok, so i took the seeds out and cooked 3 squash (maybe 3 cups?) in the microwave then added to the ingredients and followed the rest....OMG!!!! this was soooooo good! i was surprised, squash not being my favorite. it will be even better next time when i add the cheese (hubby hates cheese, so i will have to do half and half). thanks alyssa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States