Nana's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is a very comforting dish. I will say you do need more squash. I think 4 cups would do best. I also used extra soup by accident(used whole can) and I used Campbell's Cream of Chicken w/Herbs(didn't have plain on hand). This worked well. For the cornbread I used Pioneer Brand Yellow Cornbread mix (not sweet, so I used the sugar),but if you use the Jiffey or a sweet one I'd leave out the sugar. I will make again but with more squash and I might add a little extra cheese inside the dish. Yummy on this cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I loved this! Even my non squash eating 14-year-old loved it! I followed the recipe pretty much. I only had a 10 3/4 oz can of cream of chicken and I ommitted the sage. Also, instead of boiling my squash I just microwaved it for about six minutes. Loved it and will be making it again. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is the best casserole I have ever had and you don't even have to like squash. Every time I make it people go crazy for it. Super good. You can substitute all he spices an bread crumbs for a box of stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zolin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very yummy and uses up the abundance of yellow squash. I made cornbread using Better Homes New Cookbook recipe so I did not add sugar. I would cut the butter in half next time and add 3 cups squash instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I've made this a lot in the last few months with the following changes: - leave out the margarine, sage and salt - use Jiffy cornbread - add 1 large shredded carrot - add Tony's creole seasoning to give it a little more flavor. Everyone in the family eats it, including my 6 & 9 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I saute the veges in the butter then add them to the mix. After cooking this the first time I added some smoked chicken and it was a yummy main dish. This is now the dressing I make at Thanksgiving! Thanks Nana for the delicious casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Being from Texas, I knew I'd more than likely prefer a southern squash casserole recipe. BINGO! It's delicious. I followed Alyssa's comments and did add 3 cups squash and loads of sharp cheddar. The butter, cornbread, squash and onions come together perfectly. Kiss that Nana for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I used Cream of Mushroom soup, only about 3 tablespoons of butter and no celery at all (I didn't have any celery) and it was delicious. I used more than a half cup of cheese in it as well and I'm glad that I did. I noticed someone else left out the cheese and replaced the cornbread with regular white bread and gave the recipe a 3 star rating. You can't change up the entire recipe and then say you didn't really like it, it's just not fair to the person who posted the recipe in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I followed other reviewer's advice with less butter, more cheese, and added a touch of Sour cream. I improvised with frozen sliced yellow squash (thawed, cooked few seconds prior), and added perhaps a 1/2 cup extra squash than what the recipe calls for. Will fix again, as it got great reviews. However, I will add more soup next time for more flavor/moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela Cahoon McClanahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grantsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a yummy side, but I must confess I made a few changes to use what I had in the house and avoid going to the store! Change 1, no celery but had frozen corn so threw in a cup. 2, the can of soup I had was a 10 oz so I put in an additional 1/3 cup of milk to get approximately the same amount of liquid. 3, Discovered I didn't have any sage but did have dried tarrigon and dried basil so I put in a tsp of the tarrigon and a nice sprinkle of the basil. 4, We like a crunchy top to our casserole so I tossed Panko breadcrumbs with the cheese topping. In the end , despite my meddling and substituting, it was delish! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nik575

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States