Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
My daddy just loved these!!. I had remembered my uncle and my daddy talking about my grandmother making these and how much they missed them. Boy was daddy happy when he opened the jar! He said this recipe was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
These were really good. Didn't take too long to make, either. Brings back memories of my grandmother's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
My husband and I made these last night with 16 pounds of peaches. My parents have fruit trees, so I needed to find a way to easily use up a lot of peaches and we've already made peach preserves, so this was it. I've never had pickled peaches, but these are excellent. Just the right amount of spice, but we wound up with a lot of extra liquid when putting these in the jars, which I prefer to not enough any day! My four year old daughter had 3 peaches this morning when I was just trying them to see how they tasted. Thanks for a great recipe, I'm sure we'll make this next time there is another bumper crop of peaches. 2008 Update: Our peach tree produced a record crop this year and I made these with a friend. We used over 100 pounds of peaches for this recipe and are excited about our stash.(and tired too! :)) For each 4 pounds of peaches you can plan on getting about 4 pints (2 quarts). We multiplied the fruit by 5 for every batch we made (20 pounds) and only multiplied the syrup by 4 and still had plenty of liquid for canning. Again, an excellent recipe--especially if you have a lot of peaches you need to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I never had pickled peaches before and these were so good I have one more jar I hid just for me! Not too tart, not too sweet absolutely perfect! Thank you Nana :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was so easy and tasted great, even if I looked in my cinnamon jar and found nothing there. So I put in some powdered cinnamon and just threw in a handful of cloves. Still great. Don't think they'll last long, so have to make another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURCL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
It's exactly like my mother used to make. She used white cling peaches and they were wonderful. Point of reference, I'm now 74 years old and this is the first time I've seen this recipe.If any of you have access to white cling peaches, I urge you to try this recipe. I'm sending it to my daughter in law. They have a very small (personal orchard) orchard with a couple of peach trees, among the apple trees. I hope she will give this a try. Thanks for warming an "old" gal's heart with this bit of nostalgia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WoodWife
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was my first time making pickles peaches and they are delicious. I did mine in halves and added an anise seed pod to each jar along with the cinnamon stick and cloves...so pretty! My mom said they were just like her grandma used to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoodWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I have never eaten pickled peaches besides the ones they have sold at grocery stores. I decided to make these because they looked really good. These were simply amazing! My grandma wanted the recipe, and we're making them tonight for the second time. We put two cinammon sticks in each jar and left them overnight. We couldn't stop eating them the next day, and cleaned off eight peaches in one day. Thank you for this recipe. I'll be making these for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Incredible. Great pickled peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Great recipe, I had so many jars, everyone wants a jar. Plus it's easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches

Try these unique and tasty pickled peaches.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States