Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I've never had a pickled peach or made any, until I seen this recipe! It's a whole new taste for peaches! My granddaughter told me, it was Christmas in a jar! I did do one thing wrong from the recipe...I didn't have any cheesecloth so I just put the spices in the pot and then into the jars with the fruit. This made very, very spicy peaches. They are still very good, but I would not advise doing this. My daughter just loved them, something new and different for the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweetchef
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Great recipe! This was my first time making and trying pickled peaches. After reading a few reviews it decide to follow ELISAW's suggestion due to the amount of syrup leftover. I mare 5 lbs of freshly picked peaches and was able to canned 6 pints, 2 of which I added a star of anise due to a review I read but sorry, I was not a fan of that. Today I opened a left over jar that I had in the fridge and after eating the delicious peach that was left in the jar I realized that there's one serious problem with this recipe. That is that I wish I could pack more peaches in each jar. :) thank you for sharing this recipe and I'm looking forward to going back to the farm to pick more peaches, I want to make more on top of trying other canning recipes. Once again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Really good......really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I've not canned pickled peaches before. Are these peaces left whole with the seed inside? I don't see anywhere mentioned to slice or pit the peaches before canning. I'm confused about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I loved this recipe and some jars to our Church sale. Great success. I only took 'some' because some turned brown. I need advise as to how to correct that. Anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ambria_red
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This recipe was my first try at canning and because of it's simplicity it (incorrectly) made me assume all canning was going to be a breeze. This is my second year using this recipe and my batches get bigger each time. My husband loves these and gets rather grumpy when I share w/ friends. I find it helpful to keep in mind that one pint jar will usually hold two peaches. Yes, this recipe does give you extra syrup. Today I made five batches but only made three batches of syrup. I know 23 pints of pickled peaches seems like a lot but once you taste them you'll understand why they go so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
good but a little too much clove for me. Has a sort of Christmas flavor. may try again with less or no cloves. very tasty over vanilla bean ice cream though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Beyond fantastic! I had some fresh ginger so sliced that up too. Added cloves, cinnamon, ginger to spice bag and boiled with peaches (cut up peaches). Did a small batch of 4 cups. Need more peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Nana was my mother-in-law and BlueRowze is my daughter who always loved Nana's peaches. This recipe sure brings back memories of my daughter and Nana loving these peaches. They truly are Southern and better than any in the store. RedHotGMom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
SIMPLY AMAZING FLAVOR! I USED APPLE CIDER VINEGAR, 3 C SUGAR,5 LBS PEACHES, 2 CINNAMON STICKS EACH & ADDED THE CLOVES ALONG WITH PEACHES. I STILL NEEDED MAYBE 1/2 LB MORE OF PEACHES AND HAD TO ADD A LITTLE H20 TO ONE JAR. THE 4 LBS ONLY YIELDED 3 FULL QUART JARS BUT I WANTED MORE PEACHES PER JAR. THANKS FOR SHARING. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches

Try these unique and tasty pickled peaches.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States