Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Yes -- Great slaw recipe -- I made the following mods: (All other quanties remained the same) Used light mayo and 2% milk Used 1/4 cup sugar Added 1/2 oz freshly grated ginger Added 1/4 tsp of ground celery seed Added 1/8 tsp cayenne powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I'm not usually a fan for cole slaw since I've eaten it on a grilled hotdog. My guy and I decided to grill up some links and top it with this homemade cole slaw and it is absolutely amazing! Instead of milk I used half-half (because I was out of milk) and it actually have it a nice creamy consistency. I used a little over 1/4 of a cup of sugar because I thought the 2 tablespoons of vinegar I put it was over barren. the extra dash of sugar changed that taste very quickly. I will be hanging onto this recipe. Bon Apetit!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I've been making this recipe for a long time now and it's my family's favorite! I follow the recipe as-written, absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyCooks716

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
SO DELICIOUS!!! I always end up eating a bunch of it warm because I can't wait for it to cool in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Loved this recipe! I was looking for a good southern mayo slaw and found it! I didn't add onion because my family doesn't like the raw onion flavor and no buttermilk because I didn't have any on hand. Still just used 1/4 cup milk (no extra to sub for buttermilk) and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This recipe is perfect! We're taking it to our Bible study group tonight to go with brisket. I'll be making this recipe a lot! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma_Little

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is absolutely fantastic. To me, this is just about the perfect coleslaw dressing! The only thing I did was add some celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
i have been searching for a coleslaw for my husband (he believes that it is a member of the Canada Food Guide, and needs a daily dose). this? was perfect.....i too substituted by using a bag mix, but added red onion and carrot. i will use the food processor next time to achieve that fine grind. taste was perfect. awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chronicbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I really like coleslaw and I must say this is the best. The only thing I changed is I only use 2 tablespoons of sugar, and a pinch of celery seeds and a few dried cranberries great recipe, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is the best coleslaw I have ever had!! my daughter who does NOT like it at all has been devouring it!!! i made 2 batches already this week..I asked her if she wanted me to add raisons to it..her comment was do NOT mess with perfection.....and I love thats its so fast to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Aw-Some Coleslaw

A quintessential, simple recipe for perfect coleslaw.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States