Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellant! I made a double batch for a picnic and none was left. I went a little lighter on the sugar and used half the milk and half the buttermilk called for and it was perfect! I also used a grater to grate the onion into the dressing so it would be distributed well. Very very pleased with this recipe. It was the ideal blend of snappy and sweet. Thank you Krissy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Well Krissy, for "just an old family recipe" this sure is delicious and it does remind me of KFC's version! To cut back on the amount of chopping I did as others as well as the submitter suggested and bought a bag of coleslaw mix. I also opted to lighten this up a bit by using Hellman's light mayo, reduced fat buttermilk, and 1% milk. I poured everything into a large tupperware container and refrigerated for a few hours - definitely the longer the better! Great side dish for bbq ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Loved it. Just like KFC. I substituted 1-16 oz. bag coleslaw mix for the cabbage, carrots, & onion. Didn't do any additional chopping. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Delicious! I did not have buttermilk so I increased the milk to 1/2 cup and the vinegar to 1/4 cup. My son is a coleslaw lover but I've never been able to make a recipe that he liked until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaci Kulish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilworth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
You're right...this is pretty dang close to KFC's coleslaw...which is the ONLY coleslaw that I truly like. I didn't chop up the bagged cabbage/carrot mixture because I don't mind it chunkier. Great recipe, I'll be using this as my go-to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
So good....my kiddos loved it....used a pre-shredded slaw mix for ease....also used fine diced red onion (which my eldest noticed and loved), low fat mayo, omitted the milk, used low fat buttermilk and used 3 packets of Truvia sugar substitute instead of the sugar and it was way sweet enough. Also used fresh lemon juice which I think it way better than any bottled, salt and fresh cracked pepper. Made this in the morning and served tonight....NO LEFTOVERS!!!! Family inhaled. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Good recipe, consider using Stevia instead of sugar, makes it diabetic friendly. Follow directions for Stevia, is sweeter than sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was a great, standard coleslaw recipe. I added only half the sugar and still thought it was pretty sweet. Next time I might try it without the sugar and see if I think it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
To make it really KFC,I used my chopper,and ground the cabbage,carrot & onion into (Rice Size Pieces).That makes the KFC differance right there.Mix the vegtables completely in your bowl,before adding the mayo/milk mixture.If you don't have Buttermilk,mix a little white vinegar & milk together in a separate bowl. Let it sit for 5 min or so,till the milk kurdels(gets thick).I also add Celery Seed to mine.A couple shakes.Refrigerate,& mix just before serving.I make it in the morning, so it's ready for Lunch or Dinner.Great served on Sandwiches,Hot Dogs or Burgers also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I loved this recipe and consider adding apples and raisins it gives it a fruitful kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marthamreyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States