Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Good recipe, consider using Stevia instead of sugar, makes it diabetic friendly. Follow directions for Stevia, is sweeter than sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
You're right...this is pretty dang close to KFC's coleslaw...which is the ONLY coleslaw that I truly like. I didn't chop up the bagged cabbage/carrot mixture because I don't mind it chunkier. Great recipe, I'll be using this as my go-to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
So good....my kiddos loved it....used a pre-shredded slaw mix for ease....also used fine diced red onion (which my eldest noticed and loved), low fat mayo, omitted the milk, used low fat buttermilk and used 3 packets of Truvia sugar substitute instead of the sugar and it was way sweet enough. Also used fresh lemon juice which I think it way better than any bottled, salt and fresh cracked pepper. Made this in the morning and served tonight....NO LEFTOVERS!!!! Family inhaled. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was very yummy! I made it to go with our BBQ ribs last week and everyone really loved it! Yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Loved it. Just like KFC. I substituted 1-16 oz. bag coleslaw mix for the cabbage, carrots, & onion. Didn't do any additional chopping. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellant! I made a double batch for a picnic and none was left. I went a little lighter on the sugar and used half the milk and half the buttermilk called for and it was perfect! I also used a grater to grate the onion into the dressing so it would be distributed well. Very very pleased with this recipe. It was the ideal blend of snappy and sweet. Thank you Krissy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
We added more miricle whip and made it a bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Thank you Krissy! We absolutely love this. I often have cole slaw that isn't quite so enjoyable but then there are others that I just love and can't get enough of...this definitely falls in the latter category. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The recipe was just as everyone said. We killed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Well Krissy, for "just an old family recipe" this sure is delicious and it does remind me of KFC's version! To cut back on the amount of chopping I did as others as well as the submitter suggested and bought a bag of coleslaw mix. I also opted to lighten this up a bit by using Hellman's light mayo, reduced fat buttermilk, and 1% milk. I poured everything into a large tupperware container and refrigerated for a few hours - definitely the longer the better! Great side dish for bbq ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States