Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I really liked this coleslaw, and I don't like coleslaw! I think it turned out wonderful, but the second time around I also reduced the sugar to 1/8 cup, and reduced the lemon juice to 1 TBSP. The next thing I might try to adjust would be the dressing. It seems to get too watery once the cabbage is added. I may try adding 1/4-1/2 tsp of xanthan gum to the dressing before mixing it in with the veggies. Also, I'm an onion lover, so I used twice to three times the onion on the second go-round, and it was STILL great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Swortzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Awesome slaw!!! The first batch went according to the recipe and it was a bit lemony so I reduced the lemon by half in the second batch and it was great. The third batch I added a third tablespoon of vinegar and it reached the awesome level. I also used the pre-shredded cabbage/carrot mixture sold at the local store and just chopped it a bit finer. It went fast but if it lasts into the next day its even better after the flavors have mingled a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatBoy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmount, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This coleslaw was the bomb!! It really does taste like KFC's coleslaw. I changed the recipe because I didn't have buttermilk so I just added some vinegar to another 1/4 of milk. Perfect..... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christena Baillie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe. I halved it and followed the recipe exactly and it was great. Indeed very close to KFC, which I love. Not to mayonaisy, so it tasted nice and light. Will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is the EXACT same recipe from the cookbook: Top Secret Recipes - KFC coleslaw. I make it all the time and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanea Rucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was a great recipe, I loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
To make it really KFC,I used my chopper,and ground the cabbage,carrot & onion into (Rice Size Pieces).That makes the KFC differance right there.Mix the vegtables completely in your bowl,before adding the mayo/milk mixture.If you don't have Buttermilk,mix a little white vinegar & milk together in a separate bowl. Let it sit for 5 min or so,till the milk kurdels(gets thick).I also add Celery Seed to mine.A couple shakes.Refrigerate,& mix just before serving.I make it in the morning, so it's ready for Lunch or Dinner.Great served on Sandwiches,Hot Dogs or Burgers also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made exactly as the recipe stated and this recipe was just a little too sweet for us. I also thought the dressing was a little too thin. I will try this again because I thought the flavor profile was good, just too sweet. Next time I will cut back on the sugar and omit the milk. I think it will be thin enough for my taste using just the buttermilk. If you like a sweet coleslaw though, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States