Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Omg...This recipe is absolutely terrific. I made it for a family party and every one seemed to like more than the other salads that was present...awesome. thank you allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I'm giving the recipe 4 stars instead of 5 only because I started with 1/4 cup sugar and that is still a little too sweet for me. I used plain greek yogurt instead of buttermilk. I used 16 ounces freshly cut cabbage. Thanks for the recipe! Will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Yummy! I am ecstatic to find a recipe for the kind of slaw dressing we love! I have tried a number of slaw recipes, and I'm finished searching now. This has just the right combination of tanginess and sweetness. I saved time on chopping by using preshredded cabbage and carrots. Two minor adjustments: I skipped the onion due to sensitivities in my household, and I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
It makes a LOT so I cut the recipe in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made it and absolutely loved it. I used all whole milk instead of the buttermilk, and used Sweet and low packets instead of the white sugar. I made a double batch. I used 1 green and 1 purple cabbage. It was soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made this over the weekend! It's awesome! I have been is search of a great coleslaw recipie and I have found it! Easy and tasty. Followed the recipie as is. Served it with Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ (recipe on site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was delicious! As close to KFC as we have ever had. My family all commented on how good it was. This is now my new coleslaw recipe!! I doubled the dressing recipe and used 2 bags of shredded cabbage mix. Made enough for family of 9 plus a little left over. I made this early in the morning and served it in the evening. Stirred a few times throughout the day to blend flavors. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Cure for watery coleslaw. I suggest combing cabbage and carrots that have been shredded with 1 tsp of salt. Mix then set over a strainer for 1 hour to get the water that's in carrots and cabbage out. Rinse to get the salt off then dry well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I misplaced my go to cole slaw recipe and saw this one which seemed close. I made this one and at dinner my wife said exactly what I was thinking: "This is the best cole slaw you have ever made!" It is indeed better than my previous recipe and is now my new go to cole slaw. My only change was using some red onion that I had use up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I shred 1 small gala apple and add it. It adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States