Nana's Mashed Turnip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
We've totally given up on regular mashed potatoes. Go this way with or without the sugar and you won't go back. Way better for you too! Thought it would have a funky taste, nope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Really enjoyed this side dish. Paired it with venison backstrap. I might try adding an extra turnip next time as it wasn't quite enough for my family of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GretchynZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
A real turnip taste, which I love. Simple but lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I was looking for recipes to use turnips that a neighbor shared with us, and I thought this might be a good one to try. I used one large sweet potato instead of the white potatoes, and left out the sugar and salt. I also used just a tablespoon of butter and used just a little half and half in lieu of the milk. I followed the cooking instructions as written (without adding anymore butter) and it came out great. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthHappy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I'm about to make this for the second time, it's a wonderful way to get creamy rich potatoes without using as much butter or milk/cream as I do for just potatoes. These are not rutabaga as far as I can tell (rutabaga are orange, and more bitter- turnip are white and if you peel enough off, there is very little bitterness to them). I used purple top turnip, and it was awesome. I was worried hubby and babs might not go for turnip flavour, but they loved them too. A new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made this recipe tonight mainly because I had two turnips on hand from another recipe. My family and I loved it, such a nice change from just mashed potatoes. Served with meatloaf, a typical comfort meal. I did use four medium potatoes and kept all of the measurements the same as printed in the recipe. Turned out delicious. I would recommend this for a surprisingly yummy change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I would recommend this recipe for turnip haters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I doubled the recipe b/c I had so many potatoes--and it was devoured by the kiddos in no time. Calling it "Mashed Turnips" is a misnomer, though. This is mashed potatoes with added turnip. The turnip adds a nice unexpected sweetness every once-in-a-bite. You will really need to add salt to taste, and we added Herbomare and kelp to pop up the flavor, using a nice medley of multi-colored fingerlings for hte potatoes. Looked gorgeous with the purple skins ON and tasted really good. Saving this to the recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
So wanted to like this recipe. Followed it exactly and it was blah. Will try again after I look thru my spices and experiment with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving for my sister who adores turnip. It was a hit with many folks, some of who are not familiar with turnip. I would definitely make it again - it's an interesting, but not overbearing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States