Nana's Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Even without much experience in yeast breads I found this recipe easy (time consuming, but easy) and it turned out perfectly. I used one packet of yeast and doubled the fruit. It made beautiful stollen I was proud to share with our friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly except that I added a cinnamon/sugar mixture on top of the butter before I baked it. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I feel like i'm reading something wrong. I followed all the measurements exactly but there seems to be tool much wet ingredients or not enough dry. I didn't even have a dough it was more like a really sticky soupy blob...what did i do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Nice texture and very easy for a sweet bread. I added only dried blueberries, cherries and cranberries plus an extra 1/4 tsp of cardamon, baked at 350 for 25 min and sprinkled with icing sugar when fresh out of the oven. Delicious. I made 3 loaves and they were a nice size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Overall a nice recipe, but not quite what I was expecting. Most stollens I've had are quite a bit sweeter than this one, though the lesser sugar here is a plus on the health side. I doubled the fruit as other reviews suggested and am very glad I did! My family doesn't like candied fruit, so along with 1 cup raisins I used 1 cup dried cranberries, 1 cup chopped California slab apricots and 1 tablespoon fresh orange zest...Yum! We couldn't even taste the cardamom, so next time I will increase it to at least 1 teaspoon. I also like marzipan filling in my stollen; however, I didn't have any so I used 2 teaspoons almond extract in the dough instead. I completely agree with the previous reviewer in that 375 degrees was too high...my stollen was too brown with slightly burnt bottoms as well. Next time I'll try 350 degrees. Also, I too prefer the traditional sifted powdered sugar on top. A good basic recipe with a few changes...ended up with 4 medium-sized loaves which was good for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I think this recipe was good, all in all. I didn't have a food processor, so I just added the dry ingedients to the wet ingredients. I also did not like the baking time, or the tempurature called for in this recipe. My bottoms were a bit on the burnt side. Next time I will bake at 350. I also did not use icing, because traditional stollen has dusted powdered sugar on top. I also added 1/2 C of chopped almonds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I used (candied) fruitcake mix in place of the raisins, citrus peel, and candied cherries - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I wish I had read all the reviews and taken heed on the amount of flour going into my bread machine. It rose, spilled out all over and made one heck of a mess. I salvaged what I could, and the stollen turned out very nice! A word to the wise: keep checking the machine to see how the dough is rising. The next time I baked this, I dumped it out onto my floured board when it began to get out of control. Then just kept adding flour until the consistency was right. This is a good recipe - just not for cooks who freak out when the dough gets yucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good recipe! Easy to follow, my bread turned out PERFECT! Here are the changes I made: sub for cherries and citron- I added cranberries and orange zest. After I removed from the oven I dusted with powdered sugar. Got rave reviews from my very German family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I made this for my husband for Christmas and he LOVED it! I've tried other recipes but this is the best. This will be my stollen recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States