Nana's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I'm on a budget so instead of beef sirloin, I used beef STEW MEAT. I made sure that the recipe simmered for a while before I used the stew meat as the simmering helps tenderize the tougher cuts of meat. When I floured the meat, I added just a little onion powder, garlic powder and fresh ground pepper. I made no other changes. Mine was done simmering at just under two hours. I served this over hot buttered egg noodles. My family INHALED this. Out of the whole skillet, there was a small amount for my husband to take for work the next day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
It's no wonder I liked this! With the exception of the white wine, which I really liked, this is the way I've been making Beef Stroganoff since I was a young girl in the early 60s, from a paperback Sealtest cookbook! (Any of you out there old enough to remember Sealtest Dairy?) Two minor criticisms, however. First, it is counterintuitive to cook a pretty decent cut of meat like sirloin for "two to three hours." "Back in the day," when I was making this with round steak, it was indeed necessary to simmer (braise) the meat in beef broth for an hour and a half or so to ensure tenderness. But with sirloin, once browned it didn't need much longer on the stove than it took to pull it all together with the remaining ingredients - ten minutes tops. Second, the wine should be used to deglaze the pan once the meat is browned, not just before serving as the recipe instructs. You want the alcohol to cook off. These, in my view, are two important considerations for the success of this dish. Also, while I did not measure any ingredients precisely, I do know I used more broth and less flour than the recipe directs. Finally, don't forget to include pepper with the salt! I served this with hot, buttered egg noodles tossed with fresh chives and a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is absolutely delicious. I made this exactly as directed and got a dish that was creamy, rich with flavor and hearty. My son liked it a lot and he is not a beef fan. I only had ground beef on hand but it worked just fine following the same directions. I sprinkled the flour & salt mixture over the ground beef before placing it in the pan. It adds flavor and thickens the drippings. Thank you for adding this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tjkrider08
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very delicious and easy to follow instructions! This was my first time making Beef Stroganoff; I came to allrecipes.com looking for something my friend described as having made and I chose this one because it uses the same ingredients. As I was nervous about the meat tenderizing I used a tenderloin roast which cut simmer time to almost nothing. Simple, made mostly with ingredients commonly on hand with an outstanding result! Creamy, beefy, mushrooms. You won't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Hubby loves Beef Stroganoff so I've been making it for him for many years always trying a different recipe. Finally, this is the keeper for beef stroganoff!! Yeaaaaa. Really awesome flavor. I served over orzo and cut the recipe in half so I eyed a lot of the amounts and it still turned out yumeee!! tRY IT you won't be dissapointed. Thanks to Nana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was one of the best stroganoff recipes I've ever tried. I just shared some leftovers with a coworker and she agreed. I did add some balsamic vinegar to the stock mixture and I added more than the called for beef stock as the roux was too thick without it. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Great recipe. I recommend de-glazing the pan with the white wine and increasing the amount of beef stock.Any cut of beef can be used, increase cooking times for 'tougher' cuts. Philly cheese is a great substitute for sour cream. Serve with fresh parsley and egg noodles. I have made this recipe many times, its a firm family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Delish! And yes, I made this in the crockpot.....used some marsala wine since I had no white wine, and at the end of slow cooking for about 9-10 hours, added 4 oz. of low fat cream cheese and 1c of low fat sour cream, thick, creamy and delicious! Served over buttered egg noodles, family loved...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Tried this recipe and the family loved it. The tomato paste makes for a more "rich" sauce than others recipes. I used "Better Than Bouillon - Beef Base" for the stock as it keeps very well and is my go to beef stock with great flavor. I also used Red wine, as I traditionally use red wine with red meat and white wine with white meat. I'm sure its fantastic as written, a definite recipe to try. I've never ad better stroganoff...,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Fantastic! I thought I had beef broth but was out so I used Au Jus. The best Stroganoff I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2C00k

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States