Nana's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was awful! I think that it was mainly a lack of seasoning. It just didn't taste like anything. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Had to substitute turkey and turkey stock for the beef and beef stock, but otherwise followed the recipe. It will be my go-to recipe for stroganoff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was very good. I made it the night before (except for the sour cream and wine). The next day, I heated through with any extra 1/4 to 1/2 cup water. Then I added the wine. We just added a couple of dollops of sour cream on top once plated. I will defintiely make again! I followed the recipe except for adding a little extra meat and adding sour cream to plate. The sirloin steak strips were tender in about 2 to 2 1/4 hours. I used No Yolk egg noodles; the next time I will use regular egg noodles - this recipe deserves it. Best of all, no canned soup involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is a easy and tasty meal. I used stew meat so had to slow cook but wonderful flavours . Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Excellent flavor. I used beef stew meat, as I had it on hand and canned mushrooms (again, had them on hand). I only simmered for an hour, as I cooked the meat through during browning. I kept tasting it through the entire cooking process and by the time the meal actually came together I was full! I will be making this again. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
this was my most adventurous attempt at a 'gourmet' meal. followed the directions exactly (with the exception of more garlic, as is our preference).....was fantabulous! could not be happier with the result - it will assuredly become a regular in this home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chronicbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I made this recipe for dinner tonight as the recipe stated but doubled it. Very tender meat and a nice rich sauce. My husband and children enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe. However I will keep looking. Lacked the flavor profile I was seeking and remember from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was one of the best stroganoff recipes I've ever tried. I just shared some leftovers with a coworker and she agreed. I did add some balsamic vinegar to the stock mixture and I added more than the called for beef stock as the roux was too thick without it. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Tried this recipe and the family loved it. The tomato paste makes for a more "rich" sauce than others recipes. I used "Better Than Bouillon - Beef Base" for the stock as it keeps very well and is my go to beef stock with great flavor. I also used Red wine, as I traditionally use red wine with red meat and white wine with white meat. I'm sure its fantastic as written, a definite recipe to try. I've never ad better stroganoff...,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My husband loved this! I added a splash of balsamic vinegar and included the white wine.I used leftover sirloin beef roast and let the flavors meld for 1 hour. Also added a few dashes of cayenne pepper and served over egg noodles..... Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States