Nana's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Easy and great, it is one of the best stroganoff recipes I've ever tried also. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was really good. I didn't feel like babysitting it on the stove for 2-3 hours so I popped it in the oven in a covered casserole dish for about an hour. I added the white wine and sour cream and put it back in for another 30-ish minutes. Worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
It's no wonder I liked this! With the exception of the white wine, which I really liked, this is the way I've been making Beef Stroganoff since I was a young girl in the early 60s, from a paperback Sealtest cookbook! (Any of you out there old enough to remember Sealtest Dairy?) Two minor criticisms, however. First, it is counterintuitive to cook a pretty decent cut of meat like sirloin for "two to three hours." "Back in the day," when I was making this with round steak, it was indeed necessary to simmer (braise) the meat in beef broth for an hour and a half or so to ensure tenderness. But with sirloin, once browned it didn't need much longer on the stove than it took to pull it all together with the remaining ingredients - ten minutes tops. Second, the wine should be used to deglaze the pan once the meat is browned, not just before serving as the recipe instructs. You want the alcohol to cook off. These, in my view, are two important considerations for the success of this dish. Also, while I did not measure any ingredients precisely, I do know I used more broth and less flour than the recipe directs. Finally, don't forget to include pepper with the salt! I served this with hot, buttered egg noodles tossed with fresh chives and a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was awful! I think that it was mainly a lack of seasoning. It just didn't taste like anything. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Had to substitute turkey and turkey stock for the beef and beef stock, but otherwise followed the recipe. It will be my go-to recipe for stroganoff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was very good. I made it the night before (except for the sour cream and wine). The next day, I heated through with any extra 1/4 to 1/2 cup water. Then I added the wine. We just added a couple of dollops of sour cream on top once plated. I will defintiely make again! I followed the recipe except for adding a little extra meat and adding sour cream to plate. The sirloin steak strips were tender in about 2 to 2 1/4 hours. I used No Yolk egg noodles; the next time I will use regular egg noodles - this recipe deserves it. Best of all, no canned soup involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is a easy and tasty meal. I used stew meat so had to slow cook but wonderful flavours . Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Excellent flavor. I used beef stew meat, as I had it on hand and canned mushrooms (again, had them on hand). I only simmered for an hour, as I cooked the meat through during browning. I kept tasting it through the entire cooking process and by the time the meal actually came together I was full! I will be making this again. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
this was my most adventurous attempt at a 'gourmet' meal. followed the directions exactly (with the exception of more garlic, as is our preference).....was fantabulous! could not be happier with the result - it will assuredly become a regular in this home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chronicbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I made this recipe for dinner tonight as the recipe stated but doubled it. Very tender meat and a nice rich sauce. My husband and children enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe. However I will keep looking. Lacked the flavor profile I was seeking and remember from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States