Nana's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is terrific. I have been teaching my teenaged son how to cook and we had not yet made a German selection. This one proved to be ideal and in no way too difficult for a beginner. We prepared it exactly as the recipe specified. We found it to be very flavorful and as authentic as any stroganoff I have ever been served. I did serve the sauce over white rice, as is my personal preference. We will make this again. Thank you Nana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Delish! And yes, I made this in the crockpot.....used some marsala wine since I had no white wine, and at the end of slow cooking for about 9-10 hours, added 4 oz. of low fat cream cheese and 1c of low fat sour cream, thick, creamy and delicious! Served over buttered egg noodles, family loved...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Easy and great, it is one of the best stroganoff recipes I've ever tried also. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was really good. I didn't feel like babysitting it on the stove for 2-3 hours so I popped it in the oven in a covered casserole dish for about an hour. I added the white wine and sour cream and put it back in for another 30-ish minutes. Worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
It's no wonder I liked this! With the exception of the white wine, which I really liked, this is the way I've been making Beef Stroganoff since I was a young girl in the early 60s, from a paperback Sealtest cookbook! (Any of you out there old enough to remember Sealtest Dairy?) Two minor criticisms, however. First, it is counterintuitive to cook a pretty decent cut of meat like sirloin for "two to three hours." "Back in the day," when I was making this with round steak, it was indeed necessary to simmer (braise) the meat in beef broth for an hour and a half or so to ensure tenderness. But with sirloin, once browned it didn't need much longer on the stove than it took to pull it all together with the remaining ingredients - ten minutes tops. Second, the wine should be used to deglaze the pan once the meat is browned, not just before serving as the recipe instructs. You want the alcohol to cook off. These, in my view, are two important considerations for the success of this dish. Also, while I did not measure any ingredients precisely, I do know I used more broth and less flour than the recipe directs. Finally, don't forget to include pepper with the salt! I served this with hot, buttered egg noodles tossed with fresh chives and a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was awful! I think that it was mainly a lack of seasoning. It just didn't taste like anything. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Had to substitute turkey and turkey stock for the beef and beef stock, but otherwise followed the recipe. It will be my go-to recipe for stroganoff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was very good. I made it the night before (except for the sour cream and wine). The next day, I heated through with any extra 1/4 to 1/2 cup water. Then I added the wine. We just added a couple of dollops of sour cream on top once plated. I will defintiely make again! I followed the recipe except for adding a little extra meat and adding sour cream to plate. The sirloin steak strips were tender in about 2 to 2 1/4 hours. I used No Yolk egg noodles; the next time I will use regular egg noodles - this recipe deserves it. Best of all, no canned soup involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is a easy and tasty meal. I used stew meat so had to slow cook but wonderful flavours . Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Excellent flavor. I used beef stew meat, as I had it on hand and canned mushrooms (again, had them on hand). I only simmered for an hour, as I cooked the meat through during browning. I kept tasting it through the entire cooking process and by the time the meal actually came together I was full! I will be making this again. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States