Nana's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is my husband's favorite meal so I tried this recipe. He said it was good but was more tangy than he is used to and likes. (He likes it more "mushroomy".) I THINK it was the wine but not certain. Will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was really good. I added the wine early on like many of the other reviewers and also added a touch of Penzey's Bavarian Seasoning to give it just a little richer flavor. This spice blend includes crushed brown mustard, rosemary, garlic, thyme, bay leaf and sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was wonderful. Fairly easy with a nice full flavor. I love stroganoff but hate canned ingredients so this was a great recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was very tomato-ey to me. I would increase the beef broth and decrease the tomato paste or leave it out all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AimeeElliott
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Lovely recipe! The tomato paste browns the sauce, nicely. Don't be afraid of the sauce browning/sticking to the bottom of the pan. It de-glazes perfectly when you add the sour cream and white wine. Suggestion: use two large portabella mushroom caps chopped into 1 in pieces. They will hold up better for extended cooking. I only cooked this for 45-1 hour before adding the sour cream/wine and serving. It was perfect! Thank you, Nana...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AimeeElliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Good, but something was missing. It needed more of a beef flavor in my opinion and less of the tomato. I added a little bit of paprika to the sauce and extra sour cream. 3 stars for me and 5 stars from the rest of my family. Serve with coleslaw and mashed potatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I couldn't find my mom's recipe, so I was looking for one that was similar. Found it! This is exactly how I grew up eating stroganoff. Creamy and rich. The white wine really brings out the flavors in the sirloin and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I cheated and used ground beef because I was hungry and didn't want to wait 3 hours. It still turned out well. My entire family cleaned their plates, and that includes my extra special picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Made exactly as recipe stated and it was delicious!! This will be my go to recipe for stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is a very nice stroganoff. We added the wine to the flour/tomato paste mixture, followed by the broth. Also added a little more water to thin it out a bit while it cooked and a dash of thyme. Nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States