Nana's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
The first time I tried this, I used it in a crockpot pork rib recipe (Honey Ribs here on this site), so I diluted it a bit (didn't need too....it turned out too runny that way), but I was pleasantly surprised at how flavorful the ribs still turned out! The 3rd time, I poured it directly over pork ribs abd baked them for about 1 1/2 hours, and ohhhh my goodness! Soooooo delicious!! These were the BEST ribs I have made in a long time, if ever! The flavor was AMAZING!! Very, very good! And I love that it was so easy to throw together. I am done buying BBQ sauce anymore, I'll just make it, because its so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I have used this recipe for 2 years in place of store sauces, trying to avoid High fructose Corn Syrup, and MSG. It's great! My family loves it. We use it on baked chicken and on the grill. I use onion powder (1 Tbsp) in place of chopped, and a squirt of mustard in place of mustard powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Very GOOD! I halved the recipe, used yellow mustard in place of the mustard powder, cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup, and and 1/8 cup of vinegar. I used this on the marinated grilled chicken II recipe. DELICIOUS! Simply, easy and not too sweet with cutting back on the sugar. This makes a smaller serving amount than stated. If you want to have extra sauce on the side make sure to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Ok, everyone reading this, I want you to go into your cupboard and throw away any BBQ Sauce recipe you have. This is THE one! Do not alter it, you dont need to. I no longer purchase BBQ Sauce, one taste of this and you will never want to. DELICIOUS!!! Note: I make this ALL the time.. Most notably with my signature pulled pork. Have not had one person not like it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is a good base sauce recipe. The allspice and worcestershire give it good depth of flavour. Just add a dash of this and that - whatever you like - to make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This sauce is AWESOME! I didn't have onion on hand, so I used dehydrated chopped onions and onion salt instead of the celery salt. I added cayenne pepper and chili powder (didn't realize it at the time), dill weed and about 1 cup of Sam Adams Winter Brew. Of course it was pretty spicy because of the first two additives so I put in another 1/4 cup or so of brown sugar and a good long squeeze of ketchup to bring it down a notch (and that's when the beer got added too). It came out BEAUTIFULLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I added some hot sauce and a small amount of honey. My husband loved it, as did I. Will make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This is a simple and great tasting recipe! I love that it uses ingredients already on hand. I liked it as written, but also tried with liquid smoke for a variation. Both ways are good. Ingredients can be added to suit your families tastes. Definately worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This sauce is great! It was quick and had simple ingrediants that most people already have on hand. I did add some crushed red pepper because my husband likes a little kick with anything he eats. This was excellent on grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This recipe is awesome! I followed the directions exactly except I added 1/2 tsp liquid smoke like others did. I marinated chicken breast in the sauce for a couple hours then threw it all in a pan and covered it. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States