Nana's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is very delicious and I used it to make barbecue sandwiches out of tempeh. I cooked the sauce for 5 minutes and did not like the taste, but after letting it cook an additional 10 minutes I absolutely loved it! I followed the recipe exactly except I added garlic powder and used yellow mustard instead of mustard powder. Ironically, I wanted an alternative to the brand I normally use and this tastes just like it; Open Pit! Like Open Pit it is tangy and spicy, the only difference is it is sweeter. So if you are fan of that flavor (and would like to avoid unnecessary additives) then this is an inexpensive way to get the same thing. As for me, I am still looking for a BBQ recipe. However, I will definitely keep this excellent recipe and stop buying Open Pit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This sauce is awesome!!! Thank-you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
We found this sauce to really taste heavily of ketchup, it took a lot of doctoring before I was ready to use it on my chicken (cooked in the crock pot). I will have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is VERY yummy, and a quick sauce to make! I omitted the onion (because I had none) and used prepared mustard instead of powder (about a tsp) - and it turned out great!!! I will definitely make this sauce AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
great base. Quick and ingredients I normally have on hand. I did put my own spin. Tonight we were out of worcestershire sauce so that was left out. I used 2TBSP dried minced onion, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1tsp mustard powder and then ended up adding a generous TBSP+ of prepared mustard, I also added 1-2 tsp of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fidgetblogs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
this is a good recipe. i used this on grilled chicken. i used apple cider vinegar since i ran out of white vinegar. i added half the brown sugar and filled the rest in with honey as i wanted a honey flavor to my barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great sauce! I got great reviews from my guests too. I might use a little less sugar next time, but that's just my taste. I added about 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg as I'd seen in another recipe and it was good. I didn't have allspice or celery salt to put in and substituted prepared mustard for the mustard powder. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
this is the best bbq sauce I have had in a long time. have made it several times and it is still as good as the first time I made it. my favorite meat with it is pulled beef but the leftover turkey comes in second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Tasted like ketchup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
VERY easy to make! Made a huge batch (36 servings). Modifications due to ingredient availability in the kitchen: - used 750mL (one large bottle) of Heinz Hot & Spicy ketchup. - omitted Worcestershire sauce and allspice. This tasty sauce keeps in the fridge for several weeks (in my experience) and is awesome with chicken. I'm glad I didn't use regular ketchup, as the Hot & Spicy version adds heat to this BBQ sauce, which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States