Nana's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Very GOOD! I halved the recipe, used yellow mustard in place of the mustard powder, cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup, and and 1/8 cup of vinegar. I used this on the marinated grilled chicken II recipe. DELICIOUS! Simply, easy and not too sweet with cutting back on the sugar. This makes a smaller serving amount than stated. If you want to have extra sauce on the side make sure to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
The first time I tried this, I used it in a crockpot pork rib recipe (Honey Ribs here on this site), so I diluted it a bit (didn't need too....it turned out too runny that way), but I was pleasantly surprised at how flavorful the ribs still turned out! The 3rd time, I poured it directly over pork ribs abd baked them for about 1 1/2 hours, and ohhhh my goodness! Soooooo delicious!! These were the BEST ribs I have made in a long time, if ever! The flavor was AMAZING!! Very, very good! And I love that it was so easy to throw together. I am done buying BBQ sauce anymore, I'll just make it, because its so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Great simple recipe. I substituted garlic salt for celery salt and added a couple of dashes of liquid smoke. I would recommmend doubling the recipe if you are like my family & like a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This is a great barbeque sauce! I was able to make it very quickly and used it for ribs. This sauce is sweet yet enough "kick" to it for those that like the tang or spice...VERY GOOD no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This recipe is awesome! I followed the directions exactly except I added 1/2 tsp liquid smoke like others did. I marinated chicken breast in the sauce for a couple hours then threw it all in a pan and covered it. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This was excellent. I didnt' measure the ingredients but tried to be proportional. I think the allspice is the secret ingredient with this one, but dont' use more than called for or it will be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I only had balsamic vinegar on hand so I used that and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Good bbq sauce! QUICK & EASY! I made it yesterday in a flash...served it as a warm dipping sauce for bacon-wrapped bbq shrimp. (Bacon-Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp by Jan from this site). You've got to try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Very good taste on the pork shoulders I cooked them on. I added Cayenne Pepper to my taste, gave it a little more heat. Great for eating and watching football.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Delicious! Great place to start from and customize to taste. I made a little change because I had no Worcestershire sauce. Swapped in 1 tablespoon of soy sauce. Oh, and added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singularity2045

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States