Nana's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was really nice! I only made half the amount in the recipe to try it but will definitely make it again. After making it as the recipe stated I thought it tasted a little bit sharp, so added a large teaspoon full of black treacle(Molasses??) That did the trick nicely. On my next attempts I may try other extras just because this seems like a really versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Tiptree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Just made this for chicken breasts on the grill-OUTSTANDING! I used onion powder instead of chopped onion, didn't have any celery salt and used regular mustard as I didn't have any mustard powder. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very good. I would definitely make again. Not too sweet or tangy.. Used it on ribs and was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Loved this sauce! Stuck exactly to the recipe. It's a very flavorful, tangy, and sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Tastes Great. Just a little too sweet for me. Reminds me of the sauce at Favorite Dave's I didn't have all of the brown sugar that I needed so I used 1/4 cup brown sugar w/ 2 tablespoons of molasses. I will certainly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I love this BBQ sauce. Added little garlic powder and next time think I'll chop the onion very fine. Superb as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I use also use this recipe to make sloppy joes! always get compliments on this recipe on ribs and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Never actually thought of this as a sauce, but this is almost (minus celery salt and lemon juice) my father's recipe for what we call "Jackwich"...his name is Jack and it is a play on Manwich...he adds these ingredients to browned ground beef and voila! Yummy and a family favorite we top with creamy coleslaw on a bun! I will now be using this recipe to make sauce for other things! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good, but after settling it becomes a bit too sweet. I think I cut back the sugar required, but I can't remember now. I just remember thinking that this one was worth keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Excellent. Doubled the recipe and sweat the onions in some olive oil then added the rest of ingredients. I simmered about 25-30 mins to really develop the sauce. Used with pulled pork and pulled chicken with rave results. Next time I might try adding a bit of liquid smoke and see where that takes the sauce. Perfect sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States