Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
easy-peasy! 3rd time making this-yumm! This time-just for experiment, I cut down on butter -using 1/2 stick melted in the topping-the other 1/2 on the apples.looks good in oven and smells yummy! all I do for the apples is peel 6 of whatever I have on hand-this time 3 red delicious-3 granny smith,slice down to the core as close as I can get,then slice thin. I dont think this took me 15 min.,so I dont know what is so hard about that as one reviewer suggested. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
When I saw it calls for two TBSPs of cinnamon I thought it had to be a mistake...nope, no mistake. I used steel cut quick oats and this turned out delicious! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Two simple changes to take this recipe from good to great: 1. Use 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. 2. Put 1 tbsp cinnamon directly onto the apples and 1 tbsp in with the oat mixture (i.e. skip the second tbsp on top of the oats). This is so easy to make and is a delicious treat. Enjoy it warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved it! The topping was a great base for me. I added a sprinkle of ground ginger and some nutmeg to the cinnamon. Used wheat germ instead of oats. I only used the melted butter & didn't bother with the extra butter/cinnamon on top. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
My family loves this. Everywhere I take it people love it. The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was great! I didn't have the quick cooking oats but I did have some scottish oatmeal which is coarser and I really liked the extra crunch it gave. I may try the Irish steel cut oats next time. Excellent recipe overall and a really really simple way to use up some less than fresh apples. Update: actually I forgot I used brown sugar instead of white too which I think gave it some good flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This is a crowd favorite... I double the amount of apples though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pequannock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Quite good as is, not too sweet and has nice texture. I think I will add a bit of vanilla as at least one reviewer suggested next time - that sounds amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Tastes great. I love the crunchy topping. Added 1 t vanilla to apples and sprinkled them with brown sugar. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Preparing and baking this was a snap! I used 4 huge apples, which seemed sufficient. However, I think if one wanted, they could add a few more apples to the recipe and it would be just fine. I used less butter on the top, about one tablespoon dotted around. Whole oats was what I had on hand, they worked out well. Also, I replaced 1/2 cup of the one cup of white sugar with dark brown and then used 1/2 cup white sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States