Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Very tasty! I made this recipe with honeycrisp apples, reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, put 1/2 tbsp of cinnamon underneath the crumble mixture (as someone else suggested) and the remaining 1/2 tbsp on top and it came out delicious! I found mine was done after about 40 minutes in the oven. I will be making this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Simply awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Yummy, to eat and makes the house smell so good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I got rave reviews on this recipe. The only thing I changed was that I used a little less sugar and I made it 1/2 cup white sugar and a 1/4 cup dark brown sugar. Tast was perfect! My family gobbled it up .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Greene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This needs a lot of improvement. The topping mixture was okay, but none of the cinnamon and sugar got down to the apples. I am going to search for a better recipe. I thought with the high reviews it would be better. The crust was too dry and the cinnamon on top was just WAY too much. I probably would skip putting the cinnamon on top and just mix the apples in with it (and some sugar) instead. I used half brown and half white sugar per other poster suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Merth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very easy recipe, much easier than a few others I have tried. The topping was moist, I like that. I exchanged a granulated sugar substitute for the sugar and it was great, although next time I would decrease it by a tablespoon or two. I also used mostly pears with just a couple apples. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was amazing! Even my boyfriend... the picky dessert-eater, loved it! I used a maybe 1.5 qt pyrex baking/mixing bowl because that was all I had. I used 1/2 stick margarine and 1/2 stick butter for the drizzle, and then butter on the top. I didn't measure the cinnamon, but I forgot to put it on the very top. It was still wonderful! The other thing that I did was I used old-fashioned oats, and it ended up cooking for about 50 minutes simply because of the oats and I had an extra apple. I also added the teensiest bit of sugar on the top as it was almost done. You could smell it throughout the house and the apples were the perfect consistency! I am so glad I took a chance on this recipe as I was worried because I didn't have brown sugar! Give it a try! Served slightly warmed with two scoops of vanilla ice cream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
One of our family favorites. Sometimes it turns out better than others. When it is good it is GREAT! When it is not as good, it is still good. I have even way over cooked it and it is still good. Love no fail recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Family loved this. Usted half white and half Brown sugar. Also added 1/3 cup flour, 1/3 cup sugar, a whole lime and1tsp cinnamon to apples. I don't think the additional 1/2 cup butter on top is necessary. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
There seems to be way to much flour in this recipe. CONS: The topping stayed like the sugary mixture I put on the top instead of baking together into a nice "crisp" mixture of sweet oatmeal. The apples had no juice at all - again, probably because of the amount of flour. PROS: The cinnamon flavor was nice and overall, if there had been a little less flour I think this would have been very nice. I may try it again and only use 1/2 cup of flour and maybe a little less sugar too (that's a personal taste thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States