Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I use this recipe when ever I have extra apples. BUT I cut and core the apples ( put them in a bowl of cold water and some salt to keep from getting brown) Drain when done -and add sugar, little flour or cornstarch and some cinnamon to the apples Stir and let them sit a bit to get the juices flowing then I put in the pan and carry on with the rest of the recipe. I have never done it by just putting apples in the pan and putting the topping on. I would think the apples would be bland. This never lasts long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Richardson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas Center, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Great recipe! We changed the recipe a bit - we used one tbsp cinnamon in the crust, but didn't sprinkle the second tbsp overtop of it. We also added approx. 3/4 cup of chopped pecans to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Very tasty! I made this recipe with honeycrisp apples, reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, put 1/2 tbsp of cinnamon underneath the crumble mixture (as someone else suggested) and the remaining 1/2 tbsp on top and it came out delicious! I found mine was done after about 40 minutes in the oven. I will be making this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Simply awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Yummy, to eat and makes the house smell so good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I got rave reviews on this recipe. The only thing I changed was that I used a little less sugar and I made it 1/2 cup white sugar and a 1/4 cup dark brown sugar. Tast was perfect! My family gobbled it up .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Greene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This needs a lot of improvement. The topping mixture was okay, but none of the cinnamon and sugar got down to the apples. I am going to search for a better recipe. I thought with the high reviews it would be better. The crust was too dry and the cinnamon on top was just WAY too much. I probably would skip putting the cinnamon on top and just mix the apples in with it (and some sugar) instead. I used half brown and half white sugar per other poster suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Merth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very easy recipe, much easier than a few others I have tried. The topping was moist, I like that. I exchanged a granulated sugar substitute for the sugar and it was great, although next time I would decrease it by a tablespoon or two. I also used mostly pears with just a couple apples. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was amazing! Even my boyfriend... the picky dessert-eater, loved it! I used a maybe 1.5 qt pyrex baking/mixing bowl because that was all I had. I used 1/2 stick margarine and 1/2 stick butter for the drizzle, and then butter on the top. I didn't measure the cinnamon, but I forgot to put it on the very top. It was still wonderful! The other thing that I did was I used old-fashioned oats, and it ended up cooking for about 50 minutes simply because of the oats and I had an extra apple. I also added the teensiest bit of sugar on the top as it was almost done. You could smell it throughout the house and the apples were the perfect consistency! I am so glad I took a chance on this recipe as I was worried because I didn't have brown sugar! Give it a try! Served slightly warmed with two scoops of vanilla ice cream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
One of our family favorites. Sometimes it turns out better than others. When it is good it is GREAT! When it is not as good, it is still good. I have even way over cooked it and it is still good. Love no fail recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States