Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
One of our family favorites. Sometimes it turns out better than others. When it is good it is GREAT! When it is not as good, it is still good. I have even way over cooked it and it is still good. Love no fail recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Family loved this. Usted half white and half Brown sugar. Also added 1/3 cup flour, 1/3 cup sugar, a whole lime and1tsp cinnamon to apples. I don't think the additional 1/2 cup butter on top is necessary. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
There seems to be way to much flour in this recipe. CONS: The topping stayed like the sugary mixture I put on the top instead of baking together into a nice "crisp" mixture of sweet oatmeal. The apples had no juice at all - again, probably because of the amount of flour. PROS: The cinnamon flavor was nice and overall, if there had been a little less flour I think this would have been very nice. I may try it again and only use 1/2 cup of flour and maybe a little less sugar too (that's a personal taste thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
easy-peasy! 3rd time making this-yumm! This time-just for experiment, I cut down on butter -using 1/2 stick melted in the topping-the other 1/2 on the apples.looks good in oven and smells yummy! all I do for the apples is peel 6 of whatever I have on hand-this time 3 red delicious-3 granny smith,slice down to the core as close as I can get,then slice thin. I dont think this took me 15 min.,so I dont know what is so hard about that as one reviewer suggested. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
When I saw it calls for two TBSPs of cinnamon I thought it had to be a mistake...nope, no mistake. I used steel cut quick oats and this turned out delicious! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Two simple changes to take this recipe from good to great: 1. Use 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. 2. Put 1 tbsp cinnamon directly onto the apples and 1 tbsp in with the oat mixture (i.e. skip the second tbsp on top of the oats). This is so easy to make and is a delicious treat. Enjoy it warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Loved it! The topping was a great base for me. I added a sprinkle of ground ginger and some nutmeg to the cinnamon. Used wheat germ instead of oats. I only used the melted butter & didn't bother with the extra butter/cinnamon on top. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
My family loves this. Everywhere I take it people love it. The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This was great! I didn't have the quick cooking oats but I did have some scottish oatmeal which is coarser and I really liked the extra crunch it gave. I may try the Irish steel cut oats next time. Excellent recipe overall and a really really simple way to use up some less than fresh apples. Update: actually I forgot I used brown sugar instead of white too which I think gave it some good flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This is a crowd favorite... I double the amount of apples though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pequannock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States