Nana's Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe not only takes care of the job in about 1/3 the time it takes in a conventional oven, but also frees up the oven! Wish I would have thought to cook it this way YEARS ago. I think the last time I made acorn squash in the oven WAS the last time I'll make acorn squash in the oven! Also, I used one large squash and the cooking time and amounts of brown sugar and butter were perfect. Thanks, Corinne, for sharing Nana's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Great and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was sooo easy! I usually have to wait to make acorn squash for an evening when I have extra time to let it bake. Well no more. Followed recipe but added 1t of maple syrup to the kid's halves with the butter and sugar. Tasted great and everyone ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
The best!! Perfect in the fall as a side dish along red meat, although we cut back a little bit on the brown sugar or else the inside part of the squash gets too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I've had this recipe for years, my mom made it this way!! If you're counting calories, you could replace the brown sugar with some sweetner (Not quite the same but very close).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Totally bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Super easy, super tasty!!! Note: Size DOES matter, I used a small squash so I needed far less butter and brown sugar. Adjust the recipe to fit the size of your squash. Also, I didn't use pepper - just salt. Next time around I may add a dash of maple syrup for even more sweet flavor... Excellent recipe all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very good & EASY! was very sweet - don't use as much butter & sugar if not using large squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is just like my father used to make! He used to steam the squash, though, in the oven. The microwave is much more convenient. It's hard to believe something with such simple ingredients and preparation can be so good, but it is. Depending upon the size of the squash, it can easily serve 4. We serve it with lamb shanks and sauerkraut or pork tenderloin and cabbage and apples. Great fall fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Great Recipe! It was so simple...definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States