Nana's Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
big improvement timewise! Makes making just one squash very easy and quick, You don't have to plan an hour and half in advance. Personally I prefer to just melt the butter in the microwave along with the brown sugar and spoon it into the squash. Seems easier than messing with the broiler!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Awesome and Easy!! I like squash, but by the time I get home from work, it usually takes way too long. I've already told 2 people about this recipe and they love it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I love the quick and easy process to make this squash! I used less brown sugar than stated. I will try agave nectar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe not only takes care of the job in about 1/3 the time it takes in a conventional oven, but also frees up the oven! Wish I would have thought to cook it this way YEARS ago. I think the last time I made acorn squash in the oven WAS the last time I'll make acorn squash in the oven! Also, I used one large squash and the cooking time and amounts of brown sugar and butter were perfect. Thanks, Corinne, for sharing Nana's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Great and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was sooo easy! I usually have to wait to make acorn squash for an evening when I have extra time to let it bake. Well no more. Followed recipe but added 1t of maple syrup to the kid's halves with the butter and sugar. Tasted great and everyone ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
The best!! Perfect in the fall as a side dish along red meat, although we cut back a little bit on the brown sugar or else the inside part of the squash gets too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I've had this recipe for years, my mom made it this way!! If you're counting calories, you could replace the brown sugar with some sweetner (Not quite the same but very close).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Totally bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States