Nana's Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
this was my first acorn squash and it was good, but i am not sure exactly how you serve it? i scooped out and cut into little-ish pieces and served in a bowl, but not great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
delicious way to use this interesting vegetable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Love Acorn squaw!!! This makes the whole thing EASY...but I do something a little different- into each half (after turning over) I add a small container of cinnamon applesauce with a little brown sugar added and dot each with small pieces of butter. YUM- my man LOVES it and saves his for dessert!!!! You can add a drizzle of maple syrup into squash before the applesauce for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
We found it took longer than 20 minutes to microwave. Good idea to pierce skin. We also always add cinnamon (or cinnamon sugar to cover both).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I usually do this in the oven, but I started too late and tried the microwave-way for the first time. So very easy and came out just great! I used honey, not brown sugar as a personal preference, and gave a twist each of fresh cracked sea salt and pepper. A favorite fall comfort food, now made easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was a great recipe! Just as good as cooking it in the oven. I added some honey, cinnamon, and freshly ground nutmeg to each squash just before broiling. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Thank you, so much, for this recipe. No matter what you like on your squash the method is perfect when you have no time for the oven. And, this method produced the best result I can recall, even with oven baking. If you cut the squash crosswise, you'll get a pretty scalloped edge for presentation, if you're serving each half squash in its skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Ohhhh my. This is better than I could have imagined! It might be the size of the squash we had (I guess I didn't realize) but it was a tad sweet (ok, really sweet, but isn't that what makes it good?) but I made sure to use salted butter and lots of pepper and it was amazing. Husband had never had it and kept saying "I think I found a new favorite food!" Thanks for the recipe, this one is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
It was great, I used honey instead of brown sugar. Fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Wow! So easy and delicious! I just bought a few small acorn squashes at the local farmers market and I'm glad I did! Served as a side with turkey tenderloin this was a delicious fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvthedalilama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States