Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
These were amazing!! I thought they would be difficult to make but the opposite was true. They were really easy and they are great!! Yay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Simply divine! I live in south Texas, so when I shared these with some Canadian hockey players down here, they were amazed by how good they were! Delicious and VERY sweet, but sooo decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gshepherd
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
These were a special treat and unusual in their own way. The reviews about whisking the chocolate into the egg slowly before adding it back to the heated chocolate were very helpful. I used a sauce pan on low-simmer for the first layer rather than a double-boiler...1/2 cup butter in first layer to mix graham cracker crumbs and 1/3 cup butter in the second layer to cream the confectioner's sugar and doubled the ingredients in the third layer. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gshepherd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Fantastic! Loved these bars. We couldn't stop munching on them. They come out so pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germfask, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barbeau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Very good! Used only 1/3 cup of butter though in both places where 1/2 cup is called for. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Yuuumm! I keep seeing recipes for these popping up on blogs, but being from Texas I'd never tried them before. I added a whole brick of cream cheese to the middle layer, though, which helped cut the sweetness a little, I think. I also used the pudding mix (a whole four-serving box) and instead of whipping cream I used coconut flavored coffeemate. And I added a little almond extract too! DEEEE-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I was born and raised Calgary, Alberta Canada. But, moved to the United States over a decade ago. I have to tell you that this recipe is the CLOSEST in the way of overall look and taste to what I was brought up with in Canada. The only thing I can't get over is, how on earth could I eat 3 squares at one sitting when I was in elementary school? These are so rich that I am lucky to be able to finish a 2 inch square. Thank you so much to Martha J Paul for adding this recipe for all of us home sick Canadians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
crazy sweet, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I love this recipe. I used to live in BC, Canada, the home of Nanaimo bars, but now I'm in the UK and have to make my own. These have become my specialty. I use actual custard powder (not vanilla pudding mix as many reviewers do), digestive biscuit crumbs (instead of graham cracker), desiccated coconut (instead of flaked), and plain chocolate cake covering (rather than chocolate and butter) due to the different availability of ingredients here. It's fine with or without the nuts. I find that as written the crust is too thick, so for two 9 x 13" pans I double the crust and triple the filling. When I haven't had any cocoa, it works fine to use drinking chocolate (NOT instant hot chocolate, which has milk powder) for the cocoa and sugar in the base layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Wonderful bars!!! thank you! * a quick question, maybe someone can help me out- everytime i make any type of bars with chocolate on top & put them in the freezer, the tops fall off... any suggestions? maybe the bottom layer is too hot/cold, maybe im cutting wrong? (usually just melted chocolate with butter) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States