Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
mmm so yummy! Sometimes to mix it up I add a few drops of mint extract and a few drops green food dye into the custard, I love is this way, but my boyfriend prefers the original, either way, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Excellent I'm an Island girl and these are perfect. I reduce the sugar from 2cups to 11/2 cups for the middle layer, just so they are not too sweet. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe is great! My family is from Canada but now lives in NJ. Whenever we used to go to Ontario to visit relatives we always would bring home frozen nanaimo bars from a store up there. But now everyone loves the way I make them, even better than the ones they are used to from the store and Timmys. This recipe is great! And I use instant vanilla pudding power and it works fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Pretty good! The Robin Hood boxed Nanaimos are a little easier to make, though, and don't require as much butter, so I think I'll go for that next time. If I make 'em from scratch again, I think I'll put the coconut into the grinder first so that I get the coconut taste without the coconut texture. I'll also use something else for the top layer; the Baker's chocolate didn't seem to go quite right. edit: having made these a second time, they taste way too much like butter. will take it down to 1/3c in each layer and double the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
These were amazing. I mixed the first layer ingredients as instructed, except omitted the egg and baked at 350 for 10 minutes. I added the 2nd layer, then refrigerated, then the top layer when the middle was hard and cold. No double boiler! They went over really well and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
These were really really good! I cut back a tiny bit on the butter and I have no idea what 4 1-ounce pieces of chocolate was, in the end I used about 100g of dark chocolate. I added about 1/2tsp of vanilla extract in the middle layer. Very very good!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I cut out an entire cup of confectioners sugar in the middle layer, it was NOT missed, and I highly recommend freezing them. OK, this is strange but, at first I thought they were WAY too rich and sweet. So I cut them into small portions and wrapped them and put them in the freezer. After they were frozen I think they were somehow much better. It is the middle of summer and very hot here, so maybe they needed a blast of cold (They are from the NorthWest after-all). They didn't become too hard to bite and were so much better from the freezer. So I put some into tupperware, brought them to work, kept them in the freezer all morning, brought them out right after lunch, and people were like, "OMG What are these, is this fudge, this is soooo good, what is it?!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
These are a little different than the ones I make but quite similar. Some have said too much butter, well I forgot the butter in the second layer with the Bird's and it tasted just great. My husband didn't even notice the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Wow. I've been wanting to make these for a very long time and they did not disappoint. Very rich, sweet and delicious. Not for the casual dessert eater: side effects might include diabetic coma. I didn't find these that difficult to make at all and had no problems with the egg - just make sure that your chocolate mixture cools a bit before you add the beaten egg and stir immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!! I MADE SOME CHANGES AND ADDED SOME PEANUTBUTTER AND (1/2 CUP) AND INSTEAD OF CUSTARD I USED CHOCOLATE PUDDING MIX ( 2TPBS). WOW!! SO GOOD. I LOVE PEANUTBUTTER AND CHOCOLATE. THIS IS REALLY EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States