Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Bars turned out delicious! For the crust I used graham cracker crumbs and baby (arrow root) cookies, crushed in the food processor, as well as almonds! I found the crust to be nice and think but I think I needed a little more butter. For the filling, I used the custard powder which is key. I did not have any whole milk, only skim, so I used 3 tbs of Carolans Irish Cream which was a nice addition! I used an 8x8 glass pan and found I needed two more ounces or chocolate to make a full chocolate topping! Will definitely keep this recipe to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was great! The filling was quite soft though, so I would consider using another 1-2 cups of icing sugar in the filling to make it a bit more firm. I also suggest doubling the topping as other users have suggested. My reviews were all fantastic still
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Not as impressed as I usually am finding recipes on this site - I have made nanaimo bars for years with great success. I was recently away from home without my "tried and true" recipe so I went to the internet and came away with an amazing recipe. Today, when wanting to replicate that I came to this site because I have had so much success - but it was not the right recipe (which I realized early on, but it was too late to change). The bottom is falling apart horribly, perhaps it needs more butter. They are tasty - but the bottom part is definitely dry and they will be very difficult to put on a platter for Christmas Eve. My kids will gobble them up (with a spoon), but on my way back to bake another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These are excellent! My first batch wasn't great, but I learned a few things and then doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan to take to a cookie exchange. I found it was easier to thicken the chocolate/egg mixture after removing from the heat. I whipped the custard layer well until it was light and fluffy. I wanted a slightly thicker top layer so I added some more chocolate and butter. Then I put it in the fridge for about 15 minutes to let it set, and then I scored the chocolate. I like it best when the bars are cold, so I store it in the fridge. These are really rich, so I actually cut the 8x8 recipe into 32 pieces, and the 9x13 into 48 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Wonderful flavor and very easy to make, despite the three layers. I recommend refrigerating the first layer while you prepare the middle layer. It makes spreading the custard mixture much easier. These did not last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Delicious and easy to make. I will definitely come back to this recipe next time I want to make Nanaimo bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Pretty good. In the Betty Crocker cookie book they are called Fudge Meltaways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I used to live in the Pacific Northwest, I didn't even know what they were called. Forgot all about these until I saw the recipe here. Very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Best nanaimo bars ever! Double the icing and the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Double the chocolate and they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States