Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is my go-to nanaimo bar recipe. I've modified it slightly: I use 3 tbsp. of coconut milk in place of cream (my good friend is lactose intolerant), and I use 3/4-1 C. of chocolate chips (dairy-free) with a 1 TBSP. butter or (virgin) coconut oil for the topping. I've also had good luck adding a tiny a bit of orange zest to the topping. LOVE THESE!! (Oh, and I've made them in the past to match the recipe, and they were still amazing!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Tastes just like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I skipped the nuts due to an allergy in the family, but otherwise made the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I am practicing to makes these for Christmas. My middle layer is completely blah. Should I expect it to be creamy? I thought it might be stiff since these are cut to individual bars. The taste is good, but the texture of peanut butter is a little strange. I had a nanaimo bar many years ago. I don't think the center should mush a little. I'm going to try again! The taste is very good. If you have any tips tweet me @ yagwit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
It was a huge hit with family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I made these at work and my boss who is a French chef liked them. He even requested it for another function - THAT says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe has been in my family for over 30 years, and I can say it's as faithful to the original as it can be. Thanks for posting the recipe here! I was looking for a reference to the one I have and thankfully I found this one. Nanaimo bars are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I used unsweetened coconut, chopped pecans in place of the almonds and cut the sugar down a bit in the middle layer. Doubled the middle and top layer as others suggested. Beat the egg into little spoonfuls of the middle layer to avoid the curdling issue others referred to. Not the best bar ever but definitely good enough to make again! We weren't sure what to expect with these so maybe they will grow on us more and more. Can't imaginer these without doubling middle and top layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Bars turned out delicious! For the crust I used graham cracker crumbs and baby (arrow root) cookies, crushed in the food processor, as well as almonds! I found the crust to be nice and think but I think I needed a little more butter. For the filling, I used the custard powder which is key. I did not have any whole milk, only skim, so I used 3 tbs of Carolans Irish Cream which was a nice addition! I used an 8x8 glass pan and found I needed two more ounces or chocolate to make a full chocolate topping! Will definitely keep this recipe to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was great! The filling was quite soft though, so I would consider using another 1-2 cups of icing sugar in the filling to make it a bit more firm. I also suggest doubling the topping as other users have suggested. My reviews were all fantastic still
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States