Nanaimo Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
We love this recipe!! I have used orange extract and it is our favorite. Of course mint and cherry are just as good!!! Very rich, this satisfies that sugar craving like no other! A lot of work, cleaning up too but definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Of the 3 recipes for this bar on this site, this is the closest to the original; almonds (I use sliced, not chopped), not pecans, with coconut and NO oatmeal. I substitute instant vanilla pudding for custard powder (1/4 c.) in my recipe, because it's not available in my area. BUT, since I thought the layer was a bit bland, I add 1 tsp. vanilla nut extract (I use Watkins brand). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I have made these every Christmas. Growing up on Vancouver Island, they were a mainstay every Christmas. I would recomend cutting the bottom in half. I also doubled the chocolate squares and added a 1/4 cup heavy cream to make them easier to eat. Finally, I cooked the bottom so there was no worries about raw eggs. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I didn't have any trouble with curdling with the egg...I was distracted by the phone and had taken the mixture off the stove once it was mixed and kept stirring it and then realized I was supposed to add the egg. So I beat the egg in quickly and it still thickenend because it was warm, so that turned out fine. The middle was not so good....I added everything and found that it was too dry so I had to keep adding cream till it would mix smooth. The bar tastes good but the middle is too creamy I think, it tastes very buttery the center. It's got sort of a weird, I taste good but something is off...I don't know. Anyway I cut them into small bite size pieces, because one is definatly enough, and froze the rest for Christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lora
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These are very sweet, and are good for killing a craving. My husband is from Canada, so I thought I would give him a taste of home. He loves them, and says that they are exactly what they should be like. Thank you for the recipe! Oh...I used chopped walnuts rather than almonds since that is what I had on hand. I plan to try some variations that have come to mind. I think you could have a lot of fun trying different flavors and colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was a hit at the office. In fact I had one gentleman tell me that they were better than the one's that he had while he was in Nanaimo. The only thing I did different, which was not intentional, is I used dark cocoa powder. They were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Really good! One suggestion, do the chocolate topping as it says. I just melted chocolate chips instead and it didn't spread nicely at all so it looked really ugly on top, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This is an awesome recipe!!! I have never had anything like this. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
After reading the reviews I just had to try this receipe. It is wonderful and it was easy to make. I had no problems. As always I did use tips left by other reviewers. I am not a great cook. But, the women who leave reviews are terrific in leaving advice for those of us who just get by. Thank you for the recipe and all the great advice and tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Generally a good recipe, but the middle layer, the vanilla custard layer, has WAY too much butter in it - it tastes like eating sweetened butter. Too rich for my tastes, and richer than the Nanaimo bars I've eaten in Vancouver that I loved so much. I would refer you to the other Nanaimo bar recipes on this website for a more moderate approach to the vanilla layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States