Nanaimo Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Roomies loved them. One is going to chef school and advised me to keep the recipe because it was great. Just didn't use walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My FAVORITE dessert ever!! This is my first time to make these, but I grew up eating them in Canada. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. You should definitely try this recipe. Oh- sometimes it can be hard to find custard powder (at least in the stores here in TX!) it works well with vanilla pudding powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I have made this recipe several times and love it. I generally don't like Nanaimo Bars because they are too sweet and rich but these are perfect. I leave out the nuts. They are not traditional to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
If I could give this 10 stars I would. These are wonderful! They are sweet but the flavor is evenly balanced--not extraordinarily rich. I will be making these quite frequently, especially since I don't have to turn the oven on to make them! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I use Bird's custard powder from Canada, but I've heard you can use instant pudding. Instead of the cocoa powder and 1/4 cup sugar, use 2 ounces of melted semi-sweet chocolate and 2 Tablespoons sugar. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and chopped them finely in the food processor. I think I might put more chocolate & butter in the glaze next time. I also thought it was a bit thin. I thought they might be sweet for people, but everyone loved them. I live in southeast Alaska, and I've eaten Nanaimo bars for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
These were fabulous! I can't think of anything bad to say about them, except that maybe I'd add about another tsp of butter next time, the bottom seemed a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I fell in love with nanaimo bars thanks to a coworker who's a native Canadian. I made these this weekend and my husband LOVED them!!! We fought over the last piece last night. lol The only thing I changed from the recipe is I used 1/2 C broken pretzel pieces, because I'm allergic to nuts. This still gave the bars a satisfying crunch, without me itching from head to toe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I had problems galore with this recipe. The base crust I thought was a little thick. The instructions for the custard layer weren't clear so my custard never was completely mixed and was runny. I used the entire bar of chocolate but it just wasn't enough. Everytime I have had these in Canada, the entire top layer was chocolate. I may try this recipe again with some major tweaking. The one thing I can say is that even without the custard power, they DID taste just like Nanaimo bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I just spent my entire Canadian vacation sampling this dessert whenever I got the chance. As soon as I got home I had to try it for myself. This recipe was exactly like it. I had to use vanilla pudding mix as our store doesn't carry the custard and it was fine but I may try to order some of the custard just to see if it makes it any better than it already is. It is a rich dessert and worth all the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
its so0o0o0o0o goooddd!^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States