Nanaimo Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
this recipe was amazing! nanaimo bars may now be among my top my favourite desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I would have given this a 2 star, BUT I know I botched the recipe. I mixed the gramham cracker crumbs in right from the start, not giving the recipe a chance to cook up like a custard, as it directs in the first couple of steps. Apparently this is CRITICAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Delicious! I've taken them to a few get togethers now and have received nothing but compliments. I however, doubled the amounts for the top chocolate layer and substituted sliced almonds for walnuts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRebeccaEmily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
REALLY super good! I remember my Aunt making these when I was younger...Taste like I remember. I added about a TBSP of Vanilla into the frosting part. It needed it badly, but that could've been the difference between Vanilla pudding, vs. Vanilla custard. I will try to find the custard powder for next time. My whole family enjoyed them : ) Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Sensational! Just like when I used to live in Vancouver. I used hand-chopped almonds instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKALEA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Reminded me of the ones my mother used to make for us at Christmas. I made them in foil pans and popped them out to make for easier cutting into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcoulas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe. I live in Vancouver Canada so Nanaimo Bars are a staple around here especially at Christmas. I haven't made them in years though as the last time the base was too crumbly and fell apart. This recipe has just the right ratio of graham cracker crumbs so the base held together perfectly. And you can vary the middle layer with some flavoring - I used peppermint. Also used medium coconut instead of the longer kind which I don't like. I'm definitely holding on to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I actually entered the contest back in 1985 to find the "Ultimate Nanaimo Bar" recipe. I didn't win but it was a wonderful experience. I usually reduce the graham wafer crumbs to 1 3/4 cups and use 1/2 cup finely chopped almonds insead of walnuts. For the middle layer I use 1/2 cup unsalted butter and cream insead of milk. A wonderful sweet treat from my home town!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe is the closest on this site to the official Nanaimo City recipe (which I later found). The only major differences are: Almonds in the original recipe rather than walnuts. Also, try using a total of 1/2 cup butter in the custard layer, and use heavy cream in place of the milk. On personal preference, I also use an extra square of chocolate in the top layer, just so I know it will cover the whole pan. While I'm not a Canadian, I am a native Northwesterner, and my dad was a truck driver and we often rode the ferry to Nanaimo (to deliver boats) when I was kid. These are served on the ferries. It's really too bad that this is such an obscure recipe outside the Northwest, becuase if people knew about it, it would quickly become one of their favorite desserts. As for custard powder, here is what I've found on accident. The Bird's Custard powder is in a yellow, red, and blue box. I hear it's easy to find in Canada, but not so easy to find here in the US. I was shopping at some Asian stores in my area, and low and behold, there was the Bird's Custard Powder. Although I've used vanilla pudding, I have to say, it's worth a trip to some International markets to try and find the stuff. You can also find it in large grocery stores that carry lots of specialty and organic items (even though it's not organic). Rosauers carries it here in WA, it's in a yellow/blue/red can in the baking aisle. You won't be disappointed. My mother and law also told me she has found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Roomies loved them. One is going to chef school and advised me to keep the recipe because it was great. Just didn't use walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States