Nanaimo Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made these bars for a lady at work for Christmas and boy-oh-boy; if these don't cure your sweet tooth, nothing will!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I've been wanting to make these bars for about a year, but could never find the custard powder without paying double for shipping. That is, until I found it while shopping in an "English" store while in Sydney, Australia. I found room for it in my luggage and made it about a week later. They turned out great. I did add an extra square of chocolate as suggested. I never had these before, so I have nothing to compare them to, but they were delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this for thanksgiving at my friend's home. Their whole family said that my dessert was a total hit. Based on the reviews that I had read, I also changed it just a little. I decreased the graham crackers just a little, increased the middle part and tripled the chocolate on top. everyone just loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I used almonds instead of walnuts and instant vanilla pudding instead of the custard. Very yummy and easy to make. My secretary's brother is going to bring some instant custard from Canada next month, so I'll be trying this again with that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
The ratios of ingredients were too off for me to use this recipe; I actually started over with a different recipe that had better ratios. I made the crust and regretted putting in the full 2 cups of graham cracker crumbs, it made it very dry and crumbly, not at all the consistency needed for a crust. The egg should have been whisked lightly before adding to the melted butter and chocolate (off heat) so that it didn't get all "eggy" or scrambled into the mixture. So, although Nanaimo bars are DELICIOUS, the ratios are off and the directions need tweaking in order to make them delicious. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
OMG!! These bars are amazing...could be the best recipe I've ever made from this site. The only think I changed was to use almond instead of walnuts. These bars are very sweet and a little goes a long way. We saved a few for the next day and they were even better then. If you can let them sit in the refrigerator overnight before serving, it would be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenznc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was pretty good! I cut the walnuts and coconut in half, and did 50% more vanilla filling. Next time we'll add a bit more butter, milk and some vanilla extract to the filling. It was quite dry and icing sugar-y the way the recipe states. Otherwise it was perfect! We'll definately make this again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Really yummy. Very very sweet. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Jus' like moms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
very exquiset recipie and i am sure to make this again, again again again and again again again again again and over over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alfonso

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States