Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was perfect and absolutely delicious! I used 1C whole wheat flour and 1 1/2C all-purpose flour, but that is the only change I made. I loved the raisins and currants, but the caraway seeds were my favorite part! They add a depth of flavor to this bread that can't be achieved any other way. Please don't leave them out! The texture was perfect, and everyone loved it! This bread will be added to my regular rotation. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Huge hit with my family and friends!! The best part is how easy it is and the fact that it's made from things you already have in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Not sure what i did wrong but I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Wowwweee! This is just what I was looking for in Irish Soda bread. I've made several others, but they cannot compare to the wonderful crumbly texture of this. I omitted the currants since I didn't have any on hand and used white vinegar instead of the cider. This will become a regular in my house for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Wow, I used King Arthur Irish Wheat flour, and this tasted like I was back at that little pub I stopped at to eat when I had a stopp over in Dublin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wfroment

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chamois, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Rockin' Irish soda bread. So moist even after a few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I chose this version of Irish Soda bread because it originated from someones mom. In my opinion those are some of the best tried and true recipes. It was wonderful!!! I did have to bake it a bit longer, about 10 minutes) but over time I'll perfect that part of it too. This recipe is an absolute keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This soda bread was pretty good. I prefer the bread with sourcream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Really good fresh out of the oven. I didn't have caraway seed and subbed raisins for the currants since my hubby doesn't care for currants. I added a 1/2 tsp. of sweet dough flavoring just to see what kind of an effect it would have but would leave it out next time. Overall a great addition to our St. Patty's day meal, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is the best Irish soda bread recipe!!! I used dried cranberries instead of the currants. Thank you so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States