Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Wow! This was so easy! Thanks for a great tasting bread! I used my kitchen aid mixer with the dough hook & didn't have to knead at all! So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
i replaced milk + vinegar with same amount of fat-free plain yogurt (plus a tiny spoonful more 'cos i think the dough was too dry to stick together completely), and i had made them into 8 small loaves instead of 2 big ones, so i know my version is not the genuine irish soda bread. but it still turned out to be tasty. overall, this recipe is simple, easy, and quick. really worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larlarip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Super easy. Make this as gifts for every St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimsgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Loved this recipe! I had to add a few minutes to the baking time as some others mentioned, but otherwise it was great. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NJDiane
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
AWESOME! Easy recipe and so good. I used 1 cup of soaked raisins and 1 scant cup of buttermilk...because I had it on hand . Good thing it made 2, because we gobbled up the first one in no time flat. I will make this again and share with all my friends. Thanks for sharing Nana Dot's delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was a great recipe for irish soda bread. I wish it was a little more moist. That was my only complaint but I think that's the nature of soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I have made many recipes from this site and have rated them all, but I have never written a review until now... This is the best Irish Soda Bread I have ever had!! You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made these for my kindergarten classroom last year to celebrate an authentic St. Patrick's day. It was delicious and kid-approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I could tell this bread was going to be excellent by the beautiful, marshmallow-y feel of the dough! I used white flour and all raisins - since I didn't have currants on hand. Also didn't use the caraway seed - we really don't care for them. I baked at 400 for 15 minutes, then covered with foil and baked for another 15 minutes at 375.....but at that point - they weren't done - so I baked them uncovered for another 6 minutes... - they still weren't done - so baked, covered for another entire 10 minutes....then were perfect!....must be my oven! The flavor was perfect - not too sweet - not too savory - not too crumbly - if cut with a really sharp steak knife. Thanks - will always use this recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yummy-licious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
A very reliable recipe! I omitted the currants and the caraway seeds. I also added an extra tablespoon of sugar ( a sweet tooth is a major trait in my family). Sometimes I use lemon juice instead of the apple cider vinegar, it adds a very faint lemon taste which my sister really likes. This recipe is definitley a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnChicago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States