Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I could tell this bread was going to be excellent by the beautiful, marshmallow-y feel of the dough! I used white flour and all raisins - since I didn't have currants on hand. Also didn't use the caraway seed - we really don't care for them. I baked at 400 for 15 minutes, then covered with foil and baked for another 15 minutes at 375.....but at that point - they weren't done - so I baked them uncovered for another 6 minutes... - they still weren't done - so baked, covered for another entire 10 minutes....then were perfect!....must be my oven! The flavor was perfect - not too sweet - not too savory - not too crumbly - if cut with a really sharp steak knife. Thanks - will always use this recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yummy-licious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
A very reliable recipe! I omitted the currants and the caraway seeds. I also added an extra tablespoon of sugar ( a sweet tooth is a major trait in my family). Sometimes I use lemon juice instead of the apple cider vinegar, it adds a very faint lemon taste which my sister really likes. This recipe is definitley a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnChicago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have made this now several times and everyone I share this with absolutely loves it. To cut calories, I use skim milk and sometimes applesauce in place of the butter. Still delicious - just love those family recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Fantastic I made this today and it is lovely very light. Will be adding this to my baking rotation. Thank you Nana Dot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This bread had a delicious taste but was very crumbly when cut into slices. So we were buttering "pieces" rather than a "slice." Maybe that's the nature of the beast, or maybe I did something wrong ... I very rarely bake anything. I'm giving it a 4 only because of the consistency. But the taste was definitely a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbies-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. This is very easy to make. It is so yummy that I made 2 loaves for this past St. Patrick's day, and then another 3 loaves since! I love to warm up a slice and spread butter on it. Other than making the 2 tsp of caraway seeds heaping, I don't change a thing. Do not skip the currants or caraway seeds, they help make it delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I had given up on finding a great recipe for 'sodie' bread until now. THIS IS THE BEST recipe ever! I did use raw sugar instead of white, added 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp almond extract. Did not have currants and omitted the caraway seed. These round loaves turned out beautifully! ~A big hit! I will make it again for Easter, can't wait to share it! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Sheila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Not exactly the Irish soda bread I remember as a kid...I had an Irish friend in school and her mother would always make it, however this is very delicious and easy to make on its own. Currants aren't the easiest thing to find, but I did eventually find them and they are quite delicious in this bread or on their own. This bread also keeps well in the fridge - there was no way I could eat all of it on my own (even when I halved the recipe to get just 1 loaf) however it stayed tasty even after a week had gone by. I will surely make this again in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyKat83

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was perfect and absolutely delicious! I used 1C whole wheat flour and 1 1/2C all-purpose flour, but that is the only change I made. I loved the raisins and currants, but the caraway seeds were my favorite part! They add a depth of flavor to this bread that can't be achieved any other way. Please don't leave them out! The texture was perfect, and everyone loved it! This bread will be added to my regular rotation. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Huge hit with my family and friends!! The best part is how easy it is and the fact that it's made from things you already have in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States