Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very good! I don't care for caraway seeds so I omitted them. I also stirred the vinegar into the milk and let it sit to make a buttermilk (before pouring it in the mix). I've never had Soda bread before but it had the texture just like a scone. It is sweet like a scone too, so if you want more savory, reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I've always used a recipe from Epicurious for Irish Soda Bread before trying this one. Now this will be the recipe I use for Irish Soda Bread. The texture and consistency of the bread is wonderful. I didn't have currants so I used cranberries...next time I may try dates as I also have those on hand regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Thank you JerzPixelPusher for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Every year on St. Patrick's Day I try to make Irish Soda Bread, and every year I've been disappointed... until I tried this! It's light and buttery. I couldn't care less if it's authentic or not, as long as it tastes good. -Totally ruined my diet when it came out of the oven :) Also, I was worried about caraway seeds together with raisens (don't know what a current is), but it works somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
THis was so easy to make and so tasty. Perfect amount of sweetness from the dried fruit (I only used raisins). As another rater stated the top of mine was very brown after the first 15 minutes so I did tent it with foil for the remaining time. Based on other reviews as well, I left it in the over to about 10 minutes AFTER I the oven off at the specified time just to be sure it cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I never had Irish Soda Bread before. I decided to make it today. This recipe is great!!! It took minutes to put together and my husband rolled his eyes upon tasting it and said, "Hmmmm....this is delicious!" I didn't have currents, but I will definitely get some now...I used caraway seeds and glad I did...Thank you! I will make over and over....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosic, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Best bread I've ever made (and the first I've ever bothered to rate, heh). Absolutely excellent, wonderfully buttery and soft. I used both raisins and currants in the amounts given, but no caraway seeds, and it was amazing. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
5 stars! Great recipe. I tried the amazingly easy Irish Soda bread from this site last year and it did not come out nearly as good it was very dense unlike this recipe. The only moderations I had was that I used 3 quarter cup and a Tablespoon of buttermilk instead of the milk and apple cider vinegar. I also made road loaves and cut an X in the top. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was a good recipe, but it isn't a "traditional" Irish soda bread recipe. Dried fruit was only a rare occasion to add and butter was put on the bread after it was baked, not in the dough. So your recipe was changed as it got passed down and got "Americanized" if you want the real traditional Irish Soda bread check out the Society for the Preservation of Irish Soda Bread to get the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foulmouthmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Made this for the first time. It was easy and delicious! Only used half a cup of raisins cuz I was out, but it was perfect! Thanks for this delicious and easy recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States