Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I have made this now several times and everyone I share this with absolutely loves it. To cut calories, I use skim milk and sometimes applesauce in place of the butter. Still delicious - just love those family recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Fantastic I made this today and it is lovely very light. Will be adding this to my baking rotation. Thank you Nana Dot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niamh Landy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This bread had a delicious taste but was very crumbly when cut into slices. So we were buttering "pieces" rather than a "slice." Maybe that's the nature of the beast, or maybe I did something wrong ... I very rarely bake anything. I'm giving it a 4 only because of the consistency. But the taste was definitely a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbies-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. This is very easy to make. It is so yummy that I made 2 loaves for this past St. Patrick's day, and then another 3 loaves since! I love to warm up a slice and spread butter on it. Other than making the 2 tsp of caraway seeds heaping, I don't change a thing. Do not skip the currants or caraway seeds, they help make it delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I had given up on finding a great recipe for 'sodie' bread until now. THIS IS THE BEST recipe ever! I did use raw sugar instead of white, added 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp almond extract. Did not have currants and omitted the caraway seed. These round loaves turned out beautifully! ~A big hit! I will make it again for Easter, can't wait to share it! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Sheila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Not exactly the Irish soda bread I remember as a kid...I had an Irish friend in school and her mother would always make it, however this is very delicious and easy to make on its own. Currants aren't the easiest thing to find, but I did eventually find them and they are quite delicious in this bread or on their own. This bread also keeps well in the fridge - there was no way I could eat all of it on my own (even when I halved the recipe to get just 1 loaf) however it stayed tasty even after a week had gone by. I will surely make this again in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyKat83

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was perfect and absolutely delicious! I used 1C whole wheat flour and 1 1/2C all-purpose flour, but that is the only change I made. I loved the raisins and currants, but the caraway seeds were my favorite part! They add a depth of flavor to this bread that can't be achieved any other way. Please don't leave them out! The texture was perfect, and everyone loved it! This bread will be added to my regular rotation. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Huge hit with my family and friends!! The best part is how easy it is and the fact that it's made from things you already have in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Not sure what i did wrong but I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Wowwweee! This is just what I was looking for in Irish Soda bread. I've made several others, but they cannot compare to the wonderful crumbly texture of this. I omitted the currants since I didn't have any on hand and used white vinegar instead of the cider. This will become a regular in my house for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States