Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I have used this recipe every St. Paddy's day for the last 5 years and it always gets rave reviews! I usually leave out the caraway seed (I think it's too strong of a flavor for a crowd.) When I split it in 2, I put raisins in half and leave the other half plain. I haven't had leftover bread yet! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Wow, this was delicious! I have never made Irish soda bread before and did not know what to expect. I gotta say, going into the oven and while it was baking, it just looked like a big biscuit and I was prepared to be disappointed. But hot out of the oven, my boys dove into it and LOVED it! I will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I needed a good basic recipe to start from and this hit the mark. I think pretty much everyone adjusts recipes to their taste, so here are my adjustments. It was wonderful, and I will make this again. I used 3/4 cup (plus a splash extra) buttermilk instead of milk & vinegar. I added an extra Tbsp sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla and omitted the raisins, currants and caraway seeds. I formed the dough into two round loaves, cross cut the top and brushed with a mixture of buttermilk & vanilla (when I poured my 1/4 tsp over the measuring cup a little spilled over so I went with it)... Then I sprinkled a little white sugar on the top before baking at 375 for 25 minutes, turned the oven off and allowed the bread to finish baking as the oven cooled slightly (~5 minutes). Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Good God, Nana Dot knew what she was doing. I figured I'd bring a soda bread to the family dinner on St. Patrick's Day. I've never made one before but this turned out light and tasty and it was not a hassle to make. I didn't see currants at the store so I chopped up some dessert dates (the kind that come ready to eat; very sweet and rather sticky) but other than that didn't change anything. This is about as easy to make as homemade pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Madden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great recipe. The taste and texture were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Looks just like my grandmother's bread from growing up in Galway, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Really easy! No raisins, or not enough? I used chopped dates! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yes, and it was delicious. Great hit with kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Used Namaste Gluten free flour. Had great texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States